RSS

Daily Archives: 11/07/2013

I’m In Love

WITH A PINK PIG!

I’ve heard daddy talk about this pink pig downtown.  I’ve been slightly intrigued with the thoughts of meeting a pink pig.  Yesterday while watching the news with daddy in the afternoon, I saw it on television.  OMP (oh my pig!).

It’s outrageous.  I’m intrigued.  It’s pink.  I’m curious.  It’s downtown.

You are probably asking yourself what the heck is the little miniature pot-bellied pig rambling on about?  I’ll tell you.

In downtown Atlanta for more than 50 years, Atlantans have started their holiday with the tradition of riding the Macy’s Pink Pig.  The Pink Pig is a train on top of the Lenox Square Mall.  It is held beneath a 170 foot 1950’s themed Pink Pig tent.  Kids of all ages come and ride the train – yep all ages.  That includes my daddy who acts like he is five – snorts.

The Pink Pig is called Priscilla – hubba hubba.  The Pink Pig train goes through the tracks of a life sized storybook with characters like Priscilla and her friends.

Daddy says that he remembers riding the Pink Pig when he was a child.  Unfortunately, mommy never did 😦   I told mommy that I would give her piggy back rides around the house but she said it wasn’t the same?

But this year, daddy says he wants to change that.  He wants mommy to be able to ride the Pink Pig and be part of a southern tradition here in Georgia.  Aaaww – isn’t that sweet?  Personally, I think daddy just wants to be a child again and ride it himself – snorts.  I wonder if they will let me ride it?

Do you have any traditions where you are that kind of starts of the holidays for you?

 
18 Comments

Posted by on 11/07/2013 in Bacon

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

River Street and Bashful

20131027-182243.jpg

 No trip to Savannah can be complete without taking a stroll down River Street.  It was a beautiful day, a little overcast but the weather was perfect. It didn’t start to sprinkle until we were in Albert starting back to Tybee Island – it was that marvelous!

Of course, Bashful came along this date to check out some of his ancestors in the cobblestones up and down the street.  Can you believe Albert, mom’s Smart car, made it down these bumpy roads – let alone it made it all the way to Savannah and Tybee Island – snorts.  But Albert was a trooper and we are discussing my little Bashful now – snorts.

.

B20131027-182254.jpgashful looked up the road and then again back down the road. It was a hard decision to decide which way to go – there’s just so much to see, places to eat and things to shop for.  Knowing mom/dad like I do, I just *know* the first place they went to was River Street Sweets located at 13 East River Street.  They just grinned when I asked and said they weren’t telling.  It’s okay.  I already know.  

And of course, we all know that none of the delicious pralines, bear claws or pecan brittle made its way back to me.  Of course not.  Knowing mom/dad they took it back to the motel like it was a box of gold and threatened everyone with bodily harm if they even glanced at that magical box of deliciousness.  And once in the hotel room, they probably attacked that poor defenseless little box like it was Christmas snarfing down every delectable bite.  I know my humans… not that Bashful told me anything of the kind.  Rolls piggy eyes.  And of course, no pictures because then there would be witnesses.

So after all of the window shopping up and down River Street, they got hungry – go figure.  There’s a place that they love to go to called Fiddler’s Crab House located at 131 West River Street.  It is definitely on the list of places to visit every trip.  Mom and dad like to eat downstairs in the bar area – the upstairs is the restaurant.

20131027-182308.jpg

Of course they had Bashful with them who we all know is extremely under-aged to be in fine bar, there are age limits.  But mom, Mrs. I’ll-talk-you’re-ear-off-and-get-to-you-know, immediately struck up a conversation with the ever so charismatic bartender, Nolan.  He allowed the little rock to enter and partake in a great time.  And let me tell you, they had the best of time here with Nolan.  In fact, Nolan and Bashful hit it off right from the start.  And you know conversation just *had* to revolve around me – the bestest southern little piggy you could ever meet in the south 🙂

I’m sorry to say that mom/dad didn’t take pictures of the delicious food.  Shame on them for getting all excited, cutting up with Nolan and getting my Bashful into further delinquency – snorts.  (The food was out of this world!  If you are ever in Savannah, you must come here to get the buffalo shrimp.  It is the best anywhere in town!… so says mom/dad.  Again I wouldn’t know… no piggy bag for Bacon – nope.  None).

20131027-182320.jpg

But before Bashful, mom and dad could leave, they had to have at least one photo opportunity.  Nolan was just the guy to help out with the suggested ‘bar’ photo.  Do you get it??

Whoever thought that Bashful would have such a sweet and innocent name and turned into such a hardcore rock? snorts.

Now’s the time to give Mr. Nolan a proper shout out.  Nolan, if you are reading this and I hope you are – you were greatest this day.  You brought such entertainment to mom/dad and most of all to Bashful.  The food was delicious and your service was outstanding.  Mom and dad can’t wait to come and see you again in the very near future. And hey psst – how about a piggy bag for the oinker?

 
29 Comments

Posted by on 11/07/2013 in Bacon, Bashful Field Trip

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,