RSS

Daily Archives: 10/28/2016

31 Days of Spook – Frankenstein Friday

Hello spooky friends.  Today, October 29the is Frankenstein Friday – booyah!  Frankenstein Friday is always the last Friday in October.  It’s a day to celebrate the birth of Frankenstein and its creator.

Frankenstein is one of the best known characters from horror movies and dates back to the 1800’s.  Frankenstein was born and created in 1818 by Mary Wollenstonecraft Shelley at the age of 21 when she wrote the ever famous Frankenstein.  Can you imagine being so young and creating a character that would last forever?!

Do you know where the origin of this day came from?  Today was created by Ron MacCloskey from Westfield, New Jersey in 1997. He picked a Friday to celebrate so more people could participate.

Have you heard of Westfield, New Jersey before?  Does that sound familiar?  Well, Westfield, New Jersey is also the hometown of Charles Addams, the New York Times magazine cartoonist who created The Addams Family.  Small world huh?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Paw Time with Houdini


Barks my friends!  I’m still looking for the *perfect* costume for Halloween.  Since we have been watching a lot of football lately, I thought I could be a quarterback so I dressed up in my football jersey – it comes with shoulder and back pads.  What do you think?  You think coach will call me in to play?  I’ve been know to run around the Hotel Thompson with my football and mom/dad can’t catch me at all.  I may be small but I got me some good legs.

How has your week been?  Last weekend, us anipals had mom/dad all weekend.  We never let them leave the Hotel Thompson – not even once.  I guess it helps that Bacon hid mom’s Jeep keys – barks with puppy laughter.  So this weekend, mom/dad have a LOT of errands to run around and get done.  It kind of stinks but we all look on the bright side knowing that mom will pick us all up something special from the market.  That we can’t wait for!   So do you have anything planned for this weekend?

I leave you now with Jokes from Daddy.  Hope you enjoy sweet friends!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bacon’s Show and Tell

 This month, we are focusing again on embarrassing moments.  There is so many things that our humans do that is embarrassing – it’s sometimes hard to pick just one for sure.  But don’t worry, this month we are blasting daddy again… snorts with piggy laughter.  It’s what I do – what can I say?

Many years ago, mom/dad chartered a boat to themselves and went deep sea fishing.  The Captain of the boat happened to be a woman that mom/dad knew and they always had such a blast together.  So there they were about 50 miles from the shore having a great time.  Daddy is fishing away loving every minute of it while mom is talking to the ocean gods and feeding the fish if you know what I mean.  That’s when it happened.  What you ask?  Well dad started reeling in to catch a fish, pulled back on his pole and the shorts he was wearing fell down around his ankles.  Now several things happened.  Mom rolled hysterically and was of absolute no help.  Captain Elizabeth stepped in hiding her laughter to take charge.  She looked at daddy and said, “You want me to pull up your shorts or take the pole?”  Dad of course said take the pole, laughed and said thank goodness he wore underwear.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on 10/28/2016 in Bacon, Bacon's Show and Tell

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,