RSS

Daily Archives: 10/27/2016

Squeals with Piggy Fright

There I was minding my own business and doing my constitutional when I look over.  OMP heavens!  I squealed and had absolutely *no* problems making water then.  Who in their right mind drives around with this as their companion?  Can you tell me that my friends?  I mean heck I’m all for getting to ride in the carpool lane but this is ridiculous.  To say I squealed is an understatement.  I do believe people from the next state over *might* have heard me.  And hey, I’m big enough to admit it scared me.  Wouldn’t it you?  Come on admit it my friends.  You would have screamed too… right?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

31 Days of Spook – Mental Health Ward

Today, let’s tell another true story from daddy.  I know you’re dying to hear it – evil snorts.

To get through college, daddy worked at a local hospital on the mental health ward.  No those rumors are not true – that is not where he met mommy – snorts.  When he first started at the hospital, he worked the midnight shift. The mental health ward during this time was in the basement right beside the morgue.  That would bring shivers to this little piggy to begin with.

One of his co-workers  told him a story the first couple of days that he was in training that still to this day puts his nerves on edge.  They said that years earlier, a mental health patient had gotten out of their rooms in the middle of the night.  They went into the  elevator and hung themselves around 3:00AM. Staff of the hospital found the mental health patient hanging in the elevator dead.

Since then, the elevators had locks installed on them and they won’t work without the key being inserted to call for the elevator.  The nurse told daddy that every night at 3:00AM, without fail, the elevator doors would open by themselves.  Daddy didn’t take too much into this until the first time he worked by himself.  The nurse’s station was right in front of the elevator doors.  Exactly at 3:00AM, the doors opened all by themselves. It still sends chills up and down daddy’s spine.  And the elevators to this date, still open and close exactly at 3:00AM.  Nothing is wrong with them, they’ve been checked.  There is no reason for them to open at this particular time.  Anyone going up?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Spotlight Thursday – Meet Raz, Ellie and Allie

Spotlight Thursday

Welcome my friends to SPOTLIGHT THURSDAY.  This is the time that I will introduce you to one of my fellow anipals so you can get to know them better.  Some of them, you may already know.  We hope that you enjoy this series!


Name:  Raz, Ellie and Allie

Age:  Raz 4, Ellie and Allie 14

Location:  Satellite Beach, FL

Web/Blog Page:  http://www.friendsfurevercatblog.blogspot.com/

What were your first thoughts when you met your new parents? Raz – I knew Mom was special and I was very excited to have a forever home.  I took advantage of the fact that my brother pooped in his cage at the adoption event and couldn’t get out until he had  a bath.  I won my Mom over right away!  I am happy to say that my brother DID get adopted at the next event!  Mom and Dad both fussed over me in the car on the way home and I knew right away that I was going to be loved and cared for by them.  I never even cried the song of my people in the car!

Ellie and Allie – Cool plane ride to Florida and a new Mom and Dad to serve us!  We were not sure about the other kitties and woofies but made friends really fast!  We never knew woofies before we came to Florida but Cubby and Clifford were very welcoming to us!  The other kitties were friendly but a little more aloof.  Eventually we all became pals.

What was the defining moment when you knew you were in your forever home?  Raz – when I snuggled in bed with Mom the next morning.  Since I was a rescue, I lived in a couple of places but nobody ever snuggled and loved me like Mom did!!!   She had this goofy smile on her face every time she saw me.  Dad was a pushover too.   He let me sleep between them and would scratch my head before he fell asleep.  Dad even made sure I got some special toys!  Yay for Dad!!

Ellie and Allie – The second we got out of the carrier and into our new home.  There was another Birman living here (Angel Sniffie) and she told us we  would be her new sisfurs.  We were loved and fussed over from the moment we arrived. 

What has been your biggest “Oh no, now I’ve done it” moment so far in your home?   Raz – never!  I’m so cute they forgive anything I do.  Mom might be unhappy when I do something like “UN make” the bed, but she never scolds me.                

Ellie and Allie – we were running and playing smacky paw.  We ran over the buffet in the dining room and knocked over and broke a glass oil candle.  MESSY!  Mom wasn’t happy but she didn’t even scold us!!!  After that, Mom put all the breakable things in spots where we can’t get them (she THINKS).  She also switched over to battery operated candles because we have floofy tails and she worried we would get hurt.

 Who do you have wrapped around your paws more – mom or dad – and why?  Raz – both – see above Smile!  

Ellie – DADDY!   I have Daddy wrapped around my paw!  He’s my best buddy.  Sometimes at night I get on Daddy’s pillow.  He’l either move his head wayyy over so he doesn’t have to disturb me OR go into the guest bedroom so I can have the whole pillow to myself!   I sit  in the chair with Dad when he eats breakfast and he always calls me his “little girl” in a soft voice.   Allie – Mom!   I sleep next to her and follow her everywhere.  I won’t even let her go to the bathroom without me!  If she tries, I will bang on the door until she lets me in.

What’s the biggest misconception that humans think about you?  Raz – that I’m shy.   I’m really not at all….just throw a mousie and I’m your buddy!   Of course, treats are also a good way to make friends! 

Ellie – that I’m the Queen and Ruler of the house!   Oh wait….that’s not a misconception – I AM!  Allie – that I am a diva like Ellie.  I’m really a sweetie and I love attention from anyone.  I love pets and ear scritches and brushing and….well, you get the picture!


Hope you enjoyed meeting my friend – check back next week for another Spotlight edition!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on 10/27/2016 in Spotlight Thursday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,