RSS

Daily Archives: 10/20/2016

31 Days of Spook – Ellis Hotel

Buckle up my friends… it’s going to be a bumpy ride today.  Today we are focusing on the Ellis Hotel that is located in downtown Atlanta, right in mom/dad’s backyard if you will.

The Ellis Hotel used to be called the Winecoff Hotel.  On December 7, 1946 it had over 260 guests checked in for overnight.  Around 3:00AM (the witching hour some say), an elevator operator smelled smoke near the fifth floor and notified other employees.  Unfortunately by that time, the third, fourth and fifth floors were already on fire. The hotel was suppose to be fireproof and it turned out that night that it wasn’t.  Due to being ‘fireproof, there was no fire escapes, no fire doors, no sprinklers or alarm system.  Over 119 guests perished that night.

The hotel was reopened in 1951 as the Peachtree Hotel on Peachtree.  It passed through multiple ownerships and in 2007 it was named the Ellis Hotel.  There are rumors of items being moved, voices, children running and woman screaming down the hallways.  One time, two weeks in a row, the current alarm system went off at 2:48AM – the same time each week.

Mom/dad felt festive one day about a year ago.  It was during their monthly date night and they spent the night at the Hotel Ellis.  It doesn’t take much to spook dad but mom on the other hand is a hard one to crack.  They stayed on the third floor in a very nice room.  Dad woke mommy up around 2:30AM complaining about the activity in the hallway.  When mom checked it out, there was nothing.  She didn’t hear it or see anything but dad said it woke him up.  Around 3:30AM, mommy woke up smelling smoke.  She’s very sensitive to the smell and she said it was overwhelming.  Again, she woke daddy up and he didn’t smell anything.  And for some reason, the elevator door went up and down a lot that night.  They could hear the doors opening and closing but no foot steps.  Needless to say, they didn’t get much sleep that night.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Spotlight Thursday – Meet Louis Dog Armstrong

Spotlight Thursday

Welcome my friends to SPOTLIGHT THURSDAY.  This is the time that I will introduce you to one of my fellow anipals so you can get to know them better.  Some of them, you may already know.  We hope that you enjoy this series!


Name:  Louis Dog Armstrong

Age:  Ten years old in human years!

Location:  Vancouver, Canada

Web/Blog Page:  I have two web blogs because I am an overachieving, prolific writer. The first one is on WordPress and is http://www.louisbloggingdog.com. The second one is mostly about Blogville and is at louisdogslife.blogspot.com.  I am also on Google + and Pinterest as Louis the Blogging Dog.

What were your first thoughts when you met your new parents?  Actually, I don’t have pawrents in the traditional way. I was adopted and brought to my forever home by Mimi and her two grandchildren. At that time, the three of them lived together. Mimi’s grandson, Eric, was eleven and Autumn, her granddaughter was ten.  I met the three of them when they came to meet my mom, who was a tall black poodle, and my mom’s family. I ruffed the two kids especially and I followed them all over the place while my two brothers just watched. That’s when my forever family and I fell in rruff wid each other.

What was the defining moment when you knew you were in your forever home?  The first night away from my mom (the black poodle) I cried and cried. But my new forevers were so comforting! Mimi had an old alarm clock that you wind up and it goes tick-tock. She turned it on and wrapped it in a soft towel and set it beside me when I was sleeping. I actually thought it was my mom’s heartbeat so I stopped crying and slept. I soon felt the love around me and knew I was home.

What has been your biggest “Oh no, now I’ve done it” moment so far in your home?   I think the dogs reading this will understand. One time when Eric was a teenager he left his X-box on the living room floor. The humans all went out somewhere, leaving me alone with it. I was upset that they left me so guess what? I peed and pooed on the X-box. The kids were so mad because my pee went right into the vents and it could never be cleaned. It also smelled disgusting. Plus warranties don’t cover dogs peeing inside X-boxes. Mimi was not angry with me because she said that trained dogs only pee and poo indoors when their peeps haven’t taken them out enough. She also said that junior peeps should not leave their game machines on the floor where dogs might have accidents on them.

 Who do you have wrapped around your paws more – mom or dad – and why?  Like I said, our family is not like most of the other families. And sadly, the one who I had my paws wrapped around the tightest was Autumn and she crossed the rainbow bridge when she was only 17 years old. We all miss her so much! Now I would say it is Mimi because she is home with me the most.  But Eric takes me for tons of walks and gives the best belly rubs.

What’s the biggest misconception that humans think about you?  They don’t know how much I am tuned into their energy. And some humans don’t believe I can read and write, but the internet is changing that misconception.


Hope you enjoyed meeting my friend – check back next week for another Spotlight edition!

 
38 Comments

Posted by on 10/20/2016 in Spotlight Thursday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,