RSS

Daily Archives: 05/03/2013

Diary of Dominance Training

 

You know how they say that pigs can be stubborn and ‘pig-headed’?  Well, that about sums me up.  I know – I’m trying.  I really am trying.  It’s like my alter ego, Deviled Ham, comes out at times when I least expect it.  Mom/Dad are not quitters and they are hanging in there.  Here’s the update on dominance training.

Tuesday, 04/29/2013 – Dominance training actually started this evening. It is something that I’m not used to.  Dad has said the “NO” word very firmly, very southern might I add – snort giggles.  It does make me stop in my hooves and rethink my surroundings before Deviled Ham shows up.  When I was on the couch with mom, dad came over several times to see me.  The first time, I went all pig ballistic on him.  He put me in my place with the southern firm “NO” and petted my little head.  After about the third attempt, I never grunted or barked and allowed dad to pet me.

Wednesday, 04/30/2013 – After my morning snack when I was going back to my room, Deviled Ham came out from no where and I jumped dad in the hallway.  Bad move.  The rest of the day, I was fine.  Again, when I was on the couch with mom, dad came over several times to see me.  The first time, I again barked and growled but not as bad as the night before.  The second time he came over, it was just a small grumble when he pet me.  After that, I never grunted or barked and allowed dad to pet me as long as he wanted.

Thursday, 5/1/2013 – Well, you know how they say the third time is the charm?  Snort – not so much in this case.  I lost my piggy mind tonight.  I was good all day long with dad.  I never gave him a moment’s trouble while it was me and him at the Hotel Thompson.  That night, daddy and mommy went out to dinner.  When they came back, my rebellious teenager Deviled Ham made an appearance.  I tried to attack daddy.  Mom thought it was those god forsaken orange shorts he wears because they were so bright – snort.  It wasn’t.  My hoove nipped him on the knee cap, not bad.  His southern “NO” really did nothing for me.  Mommy had to be the firm one.  Instead of minding her, what did I do?  Rebellious teenager Deviled Ham tried to go after her.  Drops and shakes my piggy head.  I was bad.  Mom sent me to my room which I minded.  No bedtime snack.  No bedtime story.  No night time snuggles.  Mommy said it hurt her more than it was hurting me.  I’m not so sure.  You see, this is the one thing that piggies have a hard time with – being ignored.  She ignored me the rest of the night.  That’s tough on this little guy. And, I think I made mommy cry.  I could hear her and daddy in their room.  Mommy wouldn’t even let Bashful sleep with me last night.  I was all by myself and had all night to rethink my rebellious ways.  It was a long night.

Friday, 5/2/2013 – This morning I got mommy up to get ready for the worky place and breakfast.  It was a new day with new ways.  Mommy fixed me breakfast and I just wagged my tail so fast when she was talking to me about last night.  We had our little prayer meeting and she put me back to bed for my morning nap.  Today, I am really, REALLY going to try to be good.  Wish me luck and think of me.  Mommy says that this weekend there will be lots of training.  I’m game. 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on 05/03/2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On the Road with Bashful!

OUT AND ABOUT WITH BASHFUL… the rolling stone

 

 

 

 

 

Hello my friends.  This is Bashful, Bacon’s pet rock.  I’m continuing today with my series of “Out and About with Bashful… the rolling stone.”  Earlier in the week, you found me on my field trip to Wally World, better known to you as Walmart. 

 

20130430-105547.jpg

 While in the store, I got to ride this wonderful thing called a buggy.  It was wonderful!  Mom/dad got on to me a couple of times because I was so excited that I almost jumped out of the buggy like a Mexican jumping bean.  They fussed at me for reaching out and grabbing things off of the shelves.  I couldn’t help it!  It was so neat in this Wally World.  I’ve never been to a store before in my life. 

I found some really cool and comfy pillows.  Mom let me give them a test ride for comfort.  They passed with flying colors all the way around.  I mean hey, what better way to suck up to mom than to try these suckers out, right?  I know… I know… another pebble in the swear jar.

I couldn’t make up my mind which one I liked better.  We spent a lot of time in the pillow department going back and forth trying each one out.  20130430-105538.jpg

I wanted dad to help me out but he said that I was the rock for the job on this one.  So I bounced and bounced, wiggled in and got comfy.  What do you think?  I couldn’t just pick one.  Dad said he would ponder the decision while we were in the store looking around.

This place Wally World has everything!  So much under one roof.  It was simply amazing.  They told me that if I continued to be good, they would let me ride a pony.  What?!  They have ponies here too?  I was in shock… and a little excited.

So, I did what every smart rock would do.  I settled into the buggy, enjoyed the ride and looked forward to my pony ride.

20130430-105607.jpg

 

And you know what?  They came through.  I got to ride a pony as you can see in this picture.  It was by far one of the highlights of my trip.  This pony made noises and moved back and forth and everything.  I could barely hang on without getting bounced right off of it.  It was all that this pet rock could wish for!

 

Well, I hope you enjoyed my trip so far.  There’s so much more to share with my outing at Wally World.  I hope you look forward to my next series.  Have a fantastic weekend my new friends.

Toodles – Bashful

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 05/03/2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,