RSS

Daily Archives: 08/10/2016

Welcome Wednesday

Dear Friends – sometimes in life all we hear are the faults in the stars… the bad things that happen to us daily time after time.  Sometimes, we need to stop and smell the roses.  Such an old sentiment that needs to be put in place.  So today, let’s welcome Wednesday.  Let’s mention some “GOOD” things that have happened to us lately.  Feel free to add yours in the comment section.

I am grateful for you my friends.  Without you, where would I be?  Just an ordinary pig in the fields.

I am grateful for mom’s clean slate on her latest mammogram.  She is now cleared to go yearly instead of every 6 months.

I am grateful for daddy.  I know that seems weird but hear me out.  He takes care of all of us here at the Hotel Thompson.  Yes the roles are reversed with him and mom but he is a trooper.  He encourages us all to be all that we can be.  He loves us… even if we are shall we say out of tune with our anipal reality at times.  

I  am grateful for mom.  She has the biggest heart and would save all the anipals in the world if she could.  She loves us all – pigs, cats, dogs, guinea pigs, hamsters, fish and everything in between.  And mom never complains about having to work or the house or the bills or us being needy.  We have our quality time together and during that time, she is all ours for as long as we need her.  And trust me, we all want to turns on her lap getting special loving.

So my friends.  This is just a start of my thankful list.  What are yours?  I’m sure I’ll be adding more as the day goes on!

 
33 Comments

Posted by on 08/10/2016 in Bacon

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Travels in the South

Today, we are going to step back and reminisce over a great meal with some great friends, Bill and Jean from Canadian Cats.  If you remember, they visited us here at the Hotel Thompson earlier this year in February.  Well I came across some pictures that were taken that mom/dad forgot to share.  After you see this pictures, you will understand why mom/dad didn’t share them with me.  In fact, I’m going to let mom take it from here so I don’t have to discuss this.  I’m sure you will understand.  Take it away mommy!

“Thanks Bacon.  For obvious reasons friends, you will understand why Bacon didn’t want to be any part of today’s Travels in the South.  I do have to say that owning a shall we call P.I.G. it does make it difficult to partake in some foods here at the Hotel Thompson.  For those obvious reasons, when the need kicks in to eat pork we go out.  And yes, we have had conversations with Bacon that he is definitely not that kind of pig – thank goodness.

When Bill and Jean visited, there is a really good barbeque restaurant near us that the hub unit likes to visit from time to time.  I mean come on, you know sometimes you get the *need* for delicious food.  We took Jean and Bill to this restaurant.

The first course was an appetizer of “Redneck Egg Rolls”.  Okay we are in the south and it was appropriate, right?  They take egg roll sheets, fill them with smoked pulled pork, homemade cole slaw and jack cheese.  Then they deep fry them until they are golden brown.  They serve them with a smokey ranch dipping sauce.  Can you say yum?  These are good, crispy and really you will want more.  The hub unit just can’t get enough.

Then no one could really decide what to get so we ordered the feast for four.  It came with the works – slice pork, ribs, chicken and brisket.  Then don’t forget all of the sides – french fries, cole slaw, baked beans and garlic toast.  No way was the plate emptied by the time everything was done.  But I will tell you this – we walked away with full bellies and not just from the food.

We laughed.  We talked.  We spoke of the past.  We spoke of the future.  Sometimes there was even silence.  Not bad silence.  The kind of silence you get with great friends when everyone is happy and feeling so loved.

Just because you are out of sight from the ones you love, it doesn’t mean you are out of our thoughts.  We look forward to the next time sweet friends ❤ “

 
32 Comments

Posted by on 08/10/2016 in Travels Around the World

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,