RSS

Journey with Friends – Week 21

29 May

Welcome my friends to our weekly issue of Journey with Friends.  This is a time that we come together for support, for encouragement, for fellowship – all with one single goal in mind – to live better.  Welcome to our journey to share our goals and our accomplishments and our disappointments and frustrations.

Together we can do this!


Sunday, May 21, 2017 –  Finally a day that I could somewhat rest.  I did get my circles filled on my Apple i-Watch.  I’ll be honest with you.  It was definitely a challenge today.  I finally just had to break down, put Houdini in his stroller and take a walk around our block in our neighborhood.  Of course, we went right by Nana’s who lives up the street so we had to stop so Houdini could say hello.  It was a miserable walk though – so hot outside!  I’m afraid that when summer finally kicks in, I’m going to be one sweaty mommy!  Miles Moved: 1.71

Monday, May 22, 2017 –  Well – LOL – my plans were to get up early this morning and hit my treadmill.  It didn’t work out that way though.  I had a hard night last night sleeping with pain.  Pain didn’t want to go away no matter what medicine I took or what white noise I had in the bedroom.  Nothing helped so I didn’t really go to sleep until 5AM and the anipal clocks go off at 6:30AM.  So, as soon as I got to work, I did my walk outside.  Really muggy because we have rain coming our way sometime today/tomorrow.  But I was able to talk to a girlfriend while I walked which was wonderful

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 –  Sleep still escapes me.  Darn the RA in my hip.  I can not find relief.  I can walk through the pain but trying to sleep and feeling the thud-thud-thud of the pain does not help.  I will try to treat myself well tonight before bed and see if that helps.  Miles Moved: 2.40

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 –   Finally, I’m exhausted enough that I slept like a baby last night.  On the other hand, I slept so hard that I talked in my sleep all night and according to my husband was looking for my sandwich in the sheets – LOL.  Talking in my sleeps beats walking in my sleep which I also have been known to do.  Never a boring moment here at the Hotel Thompson – that is for sure! Miles Moved: 2.81

Thursday, May 25, 2017 –  I’m tweaking my food intake starting today.  I want to see the scales move as well.  This walking is doing some amazing things to my legs and butt but come on scales play nice to me 🙂  Miles Moved: 2.17

Friday, May 26, 2017 –   I’ll be honest with you. There are some days that I want to sleep in. Some days that I want to go to bed early. And some days that I just don’t want to work out. I’m like everyone else. What motivates me?  Knowing that I want to be healthier. Of all things in life, that is my goal. Miles Moved: 2.40

Saturday, May 27, 2017 –   Today was awesome. I made Jim go walking with me. That way he sees and feels first hand how I do. Heck, I think he enjoyed it. Miles Moved: 1.43


Thoughts for the week: Me and Jim were talking tonight about our new way of living. It’s funny how our lives have changed. Now we eat to live instead of living to eat. It’s funny how we have changed these past course of months. 


This week walked: 15.69

TOTAL 2017 Miles:  249.64

Just an interesting tidbit of information. I’ve walked almost 250 miles this year so far. To get to Tybee Island, it is 256 miles. So I’ve almost walked 👣 to our beautiful place in the sun. Fun fact, huh.  ❤️

 
14 Comments

Posted by on 05/29/2017 in Journey with Friends

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Journey with Friends – Week 21

  1. easyweimaraner

    05/29/2017 at 12:34 pm

    you are a trooper… to stick with your plans while you have to fight the pains is just great… and to talk about sandwiches is not bad… have you looked if a sandwich is between your sheets?

     
    • Piglove

      05/30/2017 at 10:59 am

      LOL – I’m still looking for that sandwich. Hilarious that I woke him up talking in my sleep. I only do that when I’m really exhausted. Hilarious. There is no telling what all I said.

       
  2. Tails Around the Ranch

    05/29/2017 at 12:40 pm

    Great job, June. Just remember, muscle weighs more than fat cells. If you’re experiencing muscle tone, you can attribute any non-movement on the scales to that. Keep up the good work!

     
    • Piglove

      05/30/2017 at 11:00 am

      Very true. I needed that reminder. My legs have become very, VERY toned. I have a long ways to go but I’ve noticed several body changes in recent weeks. I’m hanging in there though. Thanks – ❤

       
  3. Genevieve Petrillo

    05/29/2017 at 1:10 pm

    That is a super fun fact! Mom says keeping track of where you’d be if all the walking was heading in one direction is genius. It’s fascinating. We haven’t kept track, but she’s pretty sure all my walks and hikes would have us in Alaska by now! That is fine with me as long as the snow doesn’t touch my belly.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

     
    • Piglove

      05/30/2017 at 11:01 am

      I just think that it’s kind of a neat way to keep me motivated as to where I could go in the miles I have moved this year. There are others that do so much more than me; but, for me this is awesome. And I agree – no snow on my belly either beautiful ❤

       
  4. ixcanaan

    05/29/2017 at 1:25 pm

    I think you are doing fantastic … especially when you are having pain. It is so hard to keep moving when you are tired from not sleeping and don’t feel well. I had been having problems getting going because of pain and chronic fatigue and a couple of weeks ago (after getting totally fed up of feeling so lousy all the time) i did some research and began a protocol that is helping me unbelievably. It may not be a diet plan that will help you, but i will give you the links for the info just in case.

    Start by reading this article about inflammation: …http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2013/03/07/inflammation-triggers-disease-symptoms.aspx. After reading this, you will have a good idea if you are suffering from inflammation or not.

    Then this article gives more information about the best protocol i could find after lots of research to deal with inflammation: https://goodbyeleakygut.com/heal-leaky-gut-syndrome/

    And this article gives all the details for following the previous one: https://goodbyeleakygut.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/Leaky-Gut-Recovery-Guide-GLG-.pdf

    It looks formidable but after living a life where i don’t think i went a single day without bread and potatoes, i am finding that it is much easier than i thought it would be. And every day that i wake feeling more energy and less pain is certainly giving me incentive.

    If you have any questions to ask of someone who is on the program, feel free to ask.

    Anyway, good luck to you and Jim, both, wether you try the protocol or not.

    PS It is about 100 degrees here by midmorning so i have been getting up just before daylight and my piggy and I take our walk then. I think it is better for both of us :-). We don’t go far away … I just follow a giant figure 8 round and round a large property.

     
    • Piglove

      05/30/2017 at 11:03 am

      Oh sweet friend – thanks so much for your support and information! I’ve had RA for several years. The most important thing is to keep moving but at times it’s hard to maintain moving when you are hurting so bad. I have to say that since the beginning of the year and taking on this challenge, I still have ‘down’ days with flare ups but they are not as many as I once had. It’s a daily battle but I’m continuing on my path for a better health. ❤ thanks again

       
      • ixcanaan

        06/05/2017 at 1:23 pm

        Hi June … google “Bone broth and rheumatoid arthritis” … an easy add to your diet (especially if you have a slow cooker) and you are going to be soooo surprised at the results. xoxoxoxox

         
      • Piglove

        06/05/2017 at 2:53 pm

        I’m on it right now. Thanks for the tip! ❤

         
  5. imagesbytdashfield

    05/30/2017 at 10:39 am

    You can do it!!!!!

     
    • Piglove

      05/30/2017 at 11:07 am

      Thanks sweet friend. I appreciate that!

       
  6. speedyrabbit

    05/30/2017 at 12:57 pm

    Keep on working Girl You have this!Though I feel for you with the pain thing and I talk in my sleep sometimes too,xx Rachel

     
    • Piglove

      05/30/2017 at 1:18 pm

      Thanks ❤ It's definitely a work in progress. I just got finished doing today's walk. Every little step counts!

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.