RSS

Journey with Friends

09 Jan

Welcome my friends to our weekly issue of Journey with Friends.  This is a time that we come together for support, for encouragement, for fellowship – all with one single goal in mind – to live better.  Welcome to our journey to share our goals and our accomplishments and our disappointments and frustrations.

Together we can do this!


For the new year, I’m going to keep a diary here on my Journey with Friends on my week.  I hope it makes you smile, laugh and if the occasion arises, inspires you to kick me in the butt to get me off my butt.  I’m also using Apple’s i-Watch technology to keep track of my movements throughout the day.  I hope you enjoy it friends!

January 1, 2017 – Today is the day.  The first day of starting this new way of eating and living.  I’m excited.  But isn’t everyone the first day of the year?  I’m not sure what the year will bring but I’m taking it one day at a time.  I’m hitting the treadmill at the house.  Miles Moved: 1.25

January 2, 2017 – Second day and you know what?  I’m still feeling good.  Not hurting half as bad as what I thought.  Although my RA still likes to say who is in charge.  I’ve got this.  I walked the treadmill again.  I really need to give him a name.  How cute huh?  I spoke with a friend (Joanna) and she told me that she named her treadmill Toby.  That’s cute and I like it.  I’ll think about it.  Miles Moved: 1.59

January 3, 2017 – First day back to work.  I went with a great attitude – a positive attitude.  This is the new year and I got this.  I’m loving the i-watch that my sister gave me for Christmas.  This think rocks!  It tells me when to get up and move for a while which is awesome.  Sometimes I work at my desk and get too involved in what I’m doing and forget to move.  I know that’s silly but it happens.  I also made myself do a ‘quick’ exercise twice while at work – walking to the back of the building and around three times – all in heels at that – go me!  I even had enough energy to walk the treadmill when I got home.  I’m doing random hills at 20 minutes right now.  When I got off the treadmill, I was a pile of sweat.  The treadmill hates me – LOL.  For some reason, I thought of the perfect name for the treadmill – Lucifer.  Miles Moved: 1.81

January 4, 2017 – Boy can some days be trying?!  Not a really good day but you know what, I just keep swimming.  There will be stumbling blocks – stumbling people that enter your life.  I have to learn to shrug it off and let it go.  Stress doesn’t live here.  There’s an awesome app on my i-Watch called breathe.  Trust me, I used it a lot today.  Tonight, I’m skipping my date with Lucifer.  I’m being good to myself due to my day.  Miles Moved: 1.48

January 5, 2017 – I’m much better today friends.  Thank goodness for that!  If only my brain would have shut down last night so I could have slept more firmly 😦  But this morning when the clock went off, I jumped up and went for a walk on Lucifer.  Okay, maybe I didn’t ‘jump up’.  It was more like a drag me from the bed to get ready.  But hey, once I did it, I felt so much better.  And tonight we are celebrating the hub unit’s birthday a day early due to the incoming ‘snow’ we are suppose to get.  Don’t you love that.  In the south, we see one snowflake and we shut down – LOL.  Miles Moved: 1.85

January 6, 2017 – Last night I way overdid it.  Doesn’t that always happen when you go out to dinner?  Jim wanted to go to a buffet and well that’s enough said there.  It was a special occasion and both of us had a little too much eat.  On the up side, my calorie intake has been low this week and I did meet my goal of walking on Lucifer 4 times.  I feel good about that.  And even though I’m not walking Lucifer, I’m still getting up and moving during the day.  Miles Moved: 1.38

January 7, 2017 – It’s really strange how your mindset changes about getting healthier.  After we ate breakfast this morning, we looked outside at the great Snowmaggedon 2017 here in the south – insert rolling eyes.  My first thought was it’s way too cold outside and I didn’t walk the treadmill today but I wanted to move.  What to do… what to do.  So me and the hub unit went to our local Target to do some window shopping and walking.  What a perfect combination, right?  Miles Moved: 1.35

So bottom line – how do I think I did this week?  Not bad.  I have some improving to do.  I’m still balancing exercise and moving with counting calories.  I’m trying to keep our meals exciting.  The big thing is getting into a routine that I can live with – it’s all a learning experience.  So how did YOU do last week my friends?

TOTAL 2017 Miles:  10.72

 
30 Comments

Posted by on 01/09/2017 in Journey with Friends

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

30 responses to “Journey with Friends

  1. jaspersdoggyworld

    01/09/2017 at 1:19 am

    Mummy says the more you exercise the easier it becomes. She lost nearly 20kg (44 pounds) by cutting out bread and walking and swimming more. Go girl!!

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 9:45 am

      That is fantastic! This is week 2 so it’s a work in progress still. But I do feel good about it. Thanks for your support!

       
  2. easyweimaraner

    01/09/2017 at 2:15 am

    you did great. and I send power your way to stick with your new rituals :o) I once bout a torture tool via teleshopping (yes, that sounds promising ) . It was such a darned sit up thing. I thought when I torture myself one hour instead the suggested 15 minutes I have to use it only once per week. Silly me…. I had to call a dogtor the next day, I felt like petrified and couldn’t leave my bed LOL

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 9:46 am

      Oh no! I can only imagine how you felt. Too funny. Walking is good for me. It’s definitely one exercise I can do without killing my joints. It’s a matter of setting up a routine… I hope – 🙂

       
  3. Hailey and Zaphod

    01/09/2017 at 5:16 am

    What a great first week! Note – when I started exercising in September, I stopped sleeping. It happens for some people who suddenly up their activity, so be prepared. (Now I am dealing with jet lag – yay!). You can do this!

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 9:47 am

      I’m having the opposite reaction right now. I’m drained by the end of the day and I think sometimes I fall asleep before my head hits my pillow – which is an awesome thing. Thanks for your support – I really appreciate it!

       
  4. Genevieve Petrillo

    01/09/2017 at 6:03 am

    I think you’re smart to keep the treadmill at 4 days a week. It’s too easy to get burnt out on that thing. 4 days a week is plenty. A great technique at a buffet is to pick what you want, cut everything you took in half, throw half of it away and eat the other half.

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 9:48 am

      Squeals – that is an awesome tip for sure! It’s so hard to change old habits and it’s definitely a work in progress. I’m going into week 2 now and I feel pretty good still – that counts for a lot, right? Thanks for your tip and your support – I really appreciate it!

       
  5. Fozziemum

    01/09/2017 at 7:44 am

    You go girl! I am upping my walking as long as the heat is not too bad ..if i walk when it cools that’s when the snakes come out….expect running in that case..5.9 kilos down..about 8 to go…limiting bread and fats..xxx

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 9:49 am

      You are doing awesome! We officially weigh in on the 1st and the 15th. I’m hoping that the 15th is nice to me. I’m learning to juggle this new way of eating. I hope to get there soon – I hope – LOL.

       
  6. franhunne4u

    01/09/2017 at 9:08 am

    The treadmill can only have one name, non? Miles …

     
  7. Pat

    01/09/2017 at 9:22 am

    You’re doing great! There’s always bad days, that’s just part of life. Just brush them off and keep going. That I Watch sounds incredible. Wish they’d had those when I was younger. 🙂

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 9:50 am

      I know! This i-Watch is the best gift I could have gotten for Christmas. It keeps you motivated for sure. I’m counting on it to help me out and so far it has. Thanks for your support!

       
  8. Kate Crimmins

    01/09/2017 at 9:25 am

    I live in the northeast (yep, we really got some snow) and I hate the cold. I love going to the mall or a large store to do my walking. So much better than coats and hats and mittens and…well…you get the idea. Keeping a diary is good. You can look back at your progress when you need to smile.

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 9:51 am

      aww thanks – I appreciate that. That’s what we did Saturday. The hub needed to get out for a while and I needed to walk. So we went and did just that. It’s amazing how your mind starts shifting towards such things. We may even hit our mall this weekend.

       
  9. kandykid

    01/09/2017 at 11:33 am

    Good for you, that is a great start, it will get better, you may even inspire me to get off my butt.

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 12:09 pm

      LOL – It is definitely a job in progress for sure dear friend.

       
  10. Tails Around the Ranch

    01/09/2017 at 3:03 pm

    Way to walk your way to success! Keep up the good work. I love that you call yours Lucifer. That just made me giggle. I named my stepper Voldemort. It’s good to sneer at them, isn’t it! “You can’t defeat me, Voldemort! I’m stepping on your face now, dude-take that!!!!” LOL

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 10:52 pm

      Oh yes!! I love that so very much. It just gives them character I do believe. They way I can tell him how much I hate him when he’s making me walk these random hills. Snickers.

       
      • Tails Around the Ranch

        01/09/2017 at 10:54 pm

        I almost feel sorry for my stair-stepper, I get personal and mean. Almost, being the operative word. 😉

         
      • Piglove

        01/09/2017 at 10:56 pm

        Ha!! After tonight and the hills Lucifer put me through, I want to kick him.

         
      • Tails Around the Ranch

        01/09/2017 at 10:57 pm

        🤣

         
  11. The Canadian Cats

    01/09/2017 at 3:49 pm

    You walked 10 miles? Good going my friend. You are motivating me.

    Jean

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 10:53 pm

      It’s a great start to the year. Week 2 here and I still feel motivated. That’s a good sign. You got this sweet friend!

       
  12. Ladybuggz

    01/09/2017 at 3:58 pm

    Good job! keep it up!! ((hugs)) ladybuggz

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 10:53 pm

      Thanks sweet friend!

       
  13. Nylabluesmum

    01/09/2017 at 8:27 pm

    I was going to suggest you name the treadmill ‘Myles’; however it seems you have found a name already!!!
    I made no resolutions. And I am not feelin good….stomach issues now. G-D give me strength!
    Go June Go!!!
    Love Sherri-Ellen ❤

     
    • Piglove

      01/09/2017 at 10:54 pm

      Oh no. I’m sorry sweet friend. I hope you feel better soon. Lucifer is giving me a workout these days but at least I’m still talking to him. Snickers.

       
  14. katsrus

    01/10/2017 at 7:03 am

    Your doing great. Have a great week.
    Sue B

     
    • Piglove

      01/10/2017 at 9:08 am

      Thanks so very much. I appreciate that!!

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.