RSS

Spotlight Thursday – Meet Garnet

09 Nov

Spotlight Thursday

Welcome my friends to SPOTLIGHT THURSDAY.  This is the time that I will introduce you to one of my fellow anipals so you can get to know them better.  Some of them, you may already know.  We hope that you enjoy this series!


Name:  Garnet

Age:  Unknown – Rescue

Location:  Colorado

Web/Blog Page:  https://peacewithmylife.com/

What were your first thoughts when you met your new parents?  I was on survival mode and didn’t pay much attention to Mom until she put me in the car. The car really scared me, and I wasn’t sure I could trust someone who had put me in a car! I hadn’t been out of the puppy mill for long, and I was too scared and depressed to get impressed over Mom or Dad.

What was the defining moment when you knew you were in your forever home?  I liked it when she got me a cool haircut; I’d never gotten to be pretty before! But after a few weeks, my secret was out. When my Mom figured out that I was pregnant when she got me, I thought that she wouldn’t want me. Or maybe she’d be like the puppy mill and only want me for breeding babies. But it wasn’t like that. She seemed to handle my pregnancy and when my puppies were born, she found them homes with friends of friends. That made me feel good, but I didn’t know I belonged until they got me “fixed.” I was more to them than a puppy-making machine! That’s when I knew that they cared.

What has been your biggest “Oh no, now I’ve done it” moment so far in your home? It was probably the fact that I was already in the “family way” when Mom picked me out. (*hangs head, embarrassed*) It all turned out okay, but I wasn’t sure it would. I do my best to stay out of the way and be a good girl.

Who do you have wrapped around your paws more – mom or dad – and why? I can’t choose who loves me more! Both my parents love me and I like them both. I give them both lots of attention; I’m a lucky girl. They even made me “alpha female.” My only job is to be on the greeting and security details. I may be small, but I’m well camouflaged. If I came after you, you wouldn’t know what hit you!

What’s the biggest misconception that humans think about you?  I don’t like the leash or the car, and when it’s trip time, I tend to run and hide. So they sometimes think that I don’t want to go with them – but I do want to go! Once I get to the place where the smells are new and interesting, I’m happy to be there. Mom lets me choose if I want a walk, and I appreciate that. She seems to know I’m scared, but she doesn’t always know how much I really want to go.


Hope you enjoyed meeting my friend – check back next week for another Spotlight edition!

 
34 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2017 in Bacon, Spotlight Thursday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

34 responses to “Spotlight Thursday – Meet Garnet

  1. franhunne4u

    November 9, 2017 at 1:36 am

    At least this time around you could keep your young around until they were really old enough to find new homes – and I am glad you do not have to go through that again! I can understand that you are scared – when your whole world before your rescue consisted out of the confined space of the puppy mill.

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 8:17 am

      Yes, I hate confined spaces. It has taken me about 5 or 6 years to be in a small room with my pack and parents. It has to be my idea, though; I would never let them put me in a small room because the humans want me to. It has been a long road to living like a normal dog, but I’m dong well.

       
  2. easyweimaraner

    November 9, 2017 at 1:42 am

    oh what a fabulous mom you have… I’m so glad you found the bestest home and your puppies too… please give your mom a hug from me and all friends who helped to find a furever home for the pups ;o)

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 8:19 am

      It was a family affair! All the kids, mom, and dad talked to their friends to see if they needed a puppy. Many said “no” until they saw pictures of the puppies. Then, no one could say no. They were precious! Of course, Mom couldn’t say no, either, so she kept Tribble, who will be on this blog next week. Tribble and I are inseparable. It feels so good to get to know one of my puppies. I must have done a good job, because Tribble’s the best!

       
  3. Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC

    November 9, 2017 at 2:38 am

    Tink here – Mom’s favorite Guest Blogger.

    Wow Garnet – I started life in a place where there were other puppies too, but Mom says it wasn’t one of those mills. It was a really wonderful home where all of the 2-legses there really loved puppies – and played with us – and gave us toys – and treats like little bits of carrots and broccoli and banana along with those health-food chunks – and kept us clean and warm.

    I can’t even believe that there are hateful 2-legs who don’t love puppies – what’s not to love about US???

    I’m so glad you got rescued from that horrible place and found a forever home where you feel safe and wanted. And I’ll bet your puppies did too. And you sure are pretty! I’m happy to meet you.

    Woof! TINK

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 8:21 am

      Awww, thanks. I’m easy to overlook and didn’t think I was pretty at all until I got the cool haircut after Mom brought me home. I suddenly looked all grown up and everything. I love it here; they give me lots of love, and space when I need it. I finally learned what love is.

       
      • Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC

        November 9, 2017 at 3:44 pm

        Love is the BEST – right? It’s so easy to give I will never understand why so many 2-legses don’t. They could learn a lot from us – if they only would.
        Woof! TINK

         
  4. Lee and Phod

    November 9, 2017 at 7:46 am

    Garnet we hope you learn to love the leash and tolerate the car. Sounds like you have a pawsome forever home.

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 8:22 am

      Thank you; I’m getting there on the leash and car. Taking me camping made me see a whole new side to them both, and it has helped a lot! There are some really cool smells out there – wild things!

       
  5. KDKH

    November 9, 2017 at 8:15 am

    Reblogged this on Peace With My Life and commented:
    Our girl Garnet was featured today on Bacon Thompson’s blog. She’s a tiny girl, weighing in around 14 pounds, but she’s a feisty one! We love her dearly. thank you, Bacon, for featuring her on your blog!

     
    • Piglove

      November 14, 2017 at 9:49 am

      Thank you sweet friends for participating in Spotlight Thursday. We have had a blast! XOXO – Bacon

       
  6. Kismet

    November 9, 2017 at 9:38 am

    It looks like there’s some Scottie there.

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 9:41 am

      Sorry, no. Garnet is half miniature schnauzer and half after pinscher. Her hair is cut in a schnauzer cut, which looks amazingly like a Scottie. You gotta love a girl who can rock a bushy mustache!

       
      • KDKH

        November 9, 2017 at 9:41 am

        Darned that autocorrect! She is half miniature schnauzer and half Affen Pinscher.

         
  7. Tails Around the Ranch

    November 9, 2017 at 10:10 am

    Awww, little Garnet…what a beauty you are! As I have a puppy mill girl too, we know what you’ve been through. Congrats on winning the dog lotto of pawrents! [and kudos to them for finding your pups homes]

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 9:37 pm

      Awe, thanks. I did luck out — I can’t believe how different things are at this home than at the mill. Mommy says that being a mill puppy is a different kind of trauma, and there are ways to get over it. I think I’ve come a long way. I even sleep on the bed sometimes!

       
  8. Kate Crimmins

    November 9, 2017 at 10:45 am

    You are beautiful with or without a haircut!

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 9:38 pm

      You are so kind! Now, at least, I can see where I’m going and my fur doesn’t get so matted.So the cut isn’t just about looks, although I do like it when people say nice things like you do. You’ve made my day!

       
  9. Amy

    November 9, 2017 at 12:47 pm

    A beautiful name for a beautiful girl. So glad you got rescued into a wonderful furever home, sweet girl. (and yes, I am partial to miniature schnauzers).

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 9:39 pm

      The schnauzer side is the best side, right? And I’m glad you like my name. I picked it out, and it took me a while to get Mom to understand it. I tried to send the right thoughts, and she eventually got it.

       
      • Amy

        November 9, 2017 at 10:04 pm

        Well, you are obviously a garnet, a precious gem. Glad your Mom listened.

         
      • KDKH

        November 9, 2017 at 11:00 pm

        Me too! It’s the only name I would respond to.

         
  10. NylabluesMum

    November 9, 2017 at 3:52 pm

    Mee-you Garnet gurlie yur just beeuteefull…. An yur hairy-tage iss purrty uneek an kewl all so. Mee iss so happy yur safe ann luvved there. You nevurr deserved to bee inn a Puppy Mill…poor deer gurl….
    Iss a pleasure to meet you. Toe-tallee!!
    Sinseerlee, Purrince Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 9:45 pm

      Thank you for your kind words! It just goes to show that some cats can be gentlemen. I guess I landed on my feet here. It looks like you’ve got it pretty good, too!

       
  11. Genevieve Petrillo

    November 9, 2017 at 6:48 pm

    You are such a brave, courageous girl, G. I had puppies when the rescue group brought me to NJ. My puppies were adopted from the shelter, but I was left behind. I think we both landed in exactly the right homes with patient parents to make sure we’re happy. Great meeting you. Thanks, B.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 9:47 pm

      Nice to know I’m not the only one who had to find a home in difficult circumstances. I’m sorry that you didn’t get to keep any of your puppies. Tribble and I are best friends. Sometimes I forget that she’s my daughter; we’re very close friends.

       
  12. CarolMaeWY

    November 9, 2017 at 7:21 pm

    We think your story is wonderful. I hope life just gets better and better for you.

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 9:50 pm

      Thank you. I’m trying to do more with the family. Each year, I feel a little more comfortable cuddling. Yeah, that feels pretty good!

       
  13. 15andmeowing

    November 9, 2017 at 9:35 pm

    Nice to meet this cutie.

     
    • KDKH

      November 9, 2017 at 9:50 pm

      Thank you! Pleased to meet you, too!

       
  14. angelswhisper2011

    November 10, 2017 at 4:01 am

    You are super cute, Garnet, and your babies were so sqeeee…So glad you found a furrever home with loving peeps around you 🙂 Pawkisses for a wonderful weekend to all of you 🙂
    Thank you for another special spotlight, Bacon ❤

     
  15. janowrite

    November 10, 2017 at 12:26 pm

    She looks just like my black mini schnauzers! 🙂 So cute!

     
  16. Ladybuggz

    November 10, 2017 at 3:05 pm

    What a lovely name Garnet! The red color of Garnet symbolizes a strong love or romantic connection. It carries the energies of passion and desire. This stone symbolizes permanence, stability, and security. It seems you found that! It’s nice to meet you! Kudos to your mom & dad!

     
  17. Skyler Braveheart

    November 13, 2017 at 6:20 pm

    Hey it’s me, your new Scottie friend Fiona! Glad all your babies got good homes and you are out of the ” business”. My Mama and I volunteer with a Rescue where we liberate a lot of great pups from the Milks. We know you have special.needs and behaviors, but sounds like your Mom and Dad are well suited with patience and love to help you find your blessedly new normal. Check out my FB page Fearless Fiona….we can be pals…I am a Rescue too…owner surrender. ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ Fiona and her Mama

     

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
