RSS

Spotlight Thursday – Meet Sugar

12 Oct

Spotlight Thursday

Welcome my friends to SPOTLIGHT THURSDAY.  This is the time that I will introduce you to one of my fellow anipals so you can get to know them better.  Some of them, you may already know.  We hope that you enjoy this series!


Name:  Sugar (Goffin’s Cockatoo)

Age:   at least 25 years (as a rescue, we’re not sure, but he was born before the import ban of wild-caught birds)

Location:  Colorado

Web/Blog Page:  https://peacewithmylife.com/

What were your first thoughts when you met your new parents?  I was so depressed at the rescue that I didn’t care much if I had new parents or not. The rescue had taken away my mate, and the boy I adored forever (a man, now) didn’t love me anymore. I was too sad to care.

What was the defining moment when you knew you were in your forever home?  When they let me out of my cage to fly around the house, I knew that I wanted to stay and it would all be okay. Flying fixes everything!

What has been your biggest “Oh no, now I’ve done it” moment so far in your home?  Probably the time I bit mom so deeply that she bled a lot, cursed a little, and had to go to get a tetanus shot. I’ve got a powerful beak, you know. I’d bitten everyone by then, and no one liked me; I thought they were going to send me away like the boy did (*hangs head in shame*). I’m so happy they kept me. I don’t bite anymore. Much.

Who do you have wrapped around your paws more – mom or dad – and why? Definitely Mom! I spend a lot of time on her shoulder, and I supervise all her work on the computer. We usually eat together, too, which I just love! I test everything she eats!

What’s the biggest misconception that humans think about you?  They think that just because I’m old, I’m grown up. What are they thinking? I’m a cockatoo! We never really grow up!



Hope you enjoyed meeting my friend – check back next week for another Spotlight edition!

 
30 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2017 in Spotlight Thursday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

30 responses to “Spotlight Thursday – Meet Sugar

  1. easyweimaraner

    October 12, 2017 at 1:25 am

    you are as sweet as sugar, that’s the perfect name for you ;o) I would love it to fly through the house… oh what fabulous things I could grab… all things the staff has placed high above…
    the mama helped a lady once to get her macaw back who escaped into the backyard… and she made aquaintance with the pecker too…. it ended with 6 stitches and a happy lady and a sulky macaw ;o)

     
    • KDKH

      October 12, 2017 at 11:12 am

      Yes, we have fierce beaks! As prey animals, it’s our only defense along with our talons. Mom has had some nasty bites (sorry, not sorry). The beak demands respect, but I’m also very sweet and cuddly.

       
  2. Skyler Braveheart

    October 12, 2017 at 7:54 am

    Oh Sugar! What an epic story. Sounds like you have landed in just the right place…but please, those bites sound painful…maybe you feel more secure and comfortable, the biting will be kept to a minimum…you are very stunning! Your friend, Fiona

     
    • KDKH

      October 12, 2017 at 11:16 am

      Glad you see how how handsome I am! I don’t bite so Much any more. All that anger fell away, the more I flew. Now, I’m just the boss and I don’t need to use the beak so much to bite. Now, I use it to caress!

       
  3. Kate Crimmins

    October 12, 2017 at 9:01 am

    Such a sad background story. Birds often outlive their owner’s love but you were lucky to land in a good place with loving people who didn’t freak out at your biting.

     
    • KDKH

      October 12, 2017 at 11:19 am

      I was lucky to be taken in by the rescue and then going to my current home. It’s the best!! I couldn’t be happier here. I get to be large and in charge, co-captain of the Computer and chief food taster. I enjoy feeding the dogs, too! It’s a good life now; no need to bite any more.

       
  4. KDKH

    October 12, 2017 at 12:13 pm

    Reblogged this on Peace With My Life and commented:
    My cockatoo, Sugar, was interviewed on Piglove today. What an honor! Bacon Thompson spotlighted Ruby last week, and Sugar this week. Get to know our flock!

     
    • Piglove

      October 12, 2017 at 4:40 pm

      Thank you so much for the interview sweet friend. XOXO – Bacon

       
      • KDKH

        October 12, 2017 at 11:52 pm

        It was fun

         
  5. Amy

    October 12, 2017 at 12:41 pm

    Sugar, your story almost made me cry, and not from you biting me, either. I will stop by and visit your blog. Oh, and maybe if you tried living up to your name….just sayin’.

     
    • KDKH

      October 12, 2017 at 10:55 pm

      Ask Sugar’s companion person, I have to say that he totally lives up to his name, now. He is very snuggly and companionable, particularly with me. He hated women when we got him, but now, he really likes me. And he wants to party with my middle daughter, whom he thinks would make a fantastic wife for him! He loves to be petted and scritched now. He nuzzles my cheek with his beak. He sits with me, on my shoulder or chest, a lot. Unfortunately, Bacon’s questions focused on the early days, which were quite a bit rockier. It’s all good now!

       
      • Amy

        October 13, 2017 at 3:57 pm

        I am so very glad to hear this. I know birds like cockatoos have their favorite people and will do things for/with them that they won’t do when anyone else is around. You’ve got a great friend there, and I hope he can find a different mate!

         
      • KDKH

        October 13, 2017 at 5:14 pm

        I’ve caught Sugar showing off for Hannah, our Amazon parrot (featured next time on Bacon’s spotlight ) but she’s an independent gal who rejects him. He’s happy for me right now.

         
  6. Nylabluesmum

    October 12, 2017 at 3:22 pm

    Iss grate to meet you Sugar birdie!! Yur reelly kewl….
    Wee iss sorry you losted yur bf-birdie an thee Hu’man boy. Sumtimess peepull not all ways make good dee-cisionss. However, you are inn a fine home now an luvved…
    An that iss just pawsum rite?
    Sinseerlee, Purrince Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=
    Pee S: Mee iss a bird furendlee kat…

     
    • KDKH

      October 12, 2017 at 10:57 pm

      Sugar got his bluff in early with all the cats, and they give him lots of space now. No wild kingdom type of competition in our house! Sugar would love to meet you Purince Siddhartha Henry. His usual way of making friends is to bite your tail when you aren’t looking so that you know he can hurt you, then the friendship can begin. I heartily recommend being pen pals and not looking to meet him!

       
      • Nylabluesmum

        October 13, 2017 at 12:31 pm

        Mew mew mew no problem KDKH!!!! Mee finkss Pee Cee palss iss thee best idea all so 😉
        Mew mew mew…..

         
      • KDKH

        October 13, 2017 at 1:07 pm

        Yup!

         
  7. 15andmeowing

    October 12, 2017 at 8:07 pm

    Nice to meet you Sugar.

     
    • KDKH

      October 12, 2017 at 10:58 pm

      I’ve tried to find your blog, 15andmeowing. I’d love to take a look. Care to share the address?

       
      • Nylabluesmum

        October 13, 2017 at 1:20 pm

        http://15andmeowing.com/
        Mee-you Sugar here iss thee linky to mee Purrincess Phoebe’ss bloggie. Shee has gone to Pure Land butt her furamillee are continuing thee bloggie….
        Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

         
      • KDKH

        October 13, 2017 at 1:29 pm

        My condolences. Thank you.

         
      • Nylabluesmum

        October 13, 2017 at 1:38 pm

        Yur well come Sugar birdie. It iss just over 3 weekss now an mee still berry sad! Efurryone iss. Butt wee have precious memoreess….
        Why can’t katss like long livess like birdiess like you?? That wood bee pawsum woodn’t it?

         
      • KDKH

        October 13, 2017 at 2:03 pm

        It would, indeed. (Rattling beak) I cannot understand what the great Creator was thinking on that one! Us birds are awesome, but I’m very fond of my cat and dog companions. Mom says we are all one pack, one flock. Why so unfair on how long we live? (Stretches wing)

         
      • Nylabluesmum

        October 13, 2017 at 2:17 pm

        Yur a wise birdie Sugar…..An mee has asked Buudha Kat (Grate Cree-ator to you) why sum birds live longer than katss butt mee did not get an answer….Mee finkss doggiess; katss; birdss an bunnies should live 18-20 yearss. The our Hu’manss wood not have to say “Goodbye” so much! 😉
        **paw patsss** gentullee….

         
  8. CarolMaeWY

    October 14, 2017 at 6:01 pm

    Hi Sugar. Nice to meet you. Sorry we were late to the blog.

     
    • KDKH

      October 15, 2017 at 8:05 pm

      Hey, better late than never! Glad to see you here!

       
    • Piglove

      October 16, 2017 at 12:21 pm

      P.S. You are never late to the blog sweet friends. XOXO – Bacon

       
  9. Tails Around the Ranch

    October 15, 2017 at 10:24 am

    Sugar…you are one gorgeous bird. We used to have a cockatiel back in the 80’s & 90’s and I can attest to those love bites. 😇 But we loved Guinevere to pieces just like your family loves you. Welcome, beautiful bird.

     
    • KDKH

      October 15, 2017 at 8:07 pm

      Our beaks are sharp, OK, but they can also be gentle and tender. I’ve been learning that the years I’ve been here. I still give a nip or pinch now and then, but I don’t draw blood very often any more. And I suspect they love me to pieces anyway.

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
