RSS

Travels in the South

09 Aug

 Welcome my friends to another edition of Travels in the South.  This week mom/dad stumbled onto something that was simply amazing – Onion Rings.

Who doesn’t love a good onion ring?  Mom/dad were visiting a place a couple of towns over from the Hotel Thompson.  They saw homemade onion rings on the menu and decided to give it a whirl.  This alone amazed me because here is a little tidbit for you.  Dad hates onions.  He hates them raw.  He hates them in salads.  BUT, he loves onion rings.  I think that’s a little weird, right?  But then again, we are talking about my daddy – snorts and rolls with piggy laughter.

The onion rings finally came to the table and oh my piggy heavens – look at that mountain of goodness!  These are huge!!  They are fresh cut, hand battered and made to order – thus the ten minute wait to get them upon ordering.

The restaurant serves them with a Cajun dipping sauce (which when mom asked was told it was a ranch sauce with cajun spices).  And it does have a little kick.  Mom/dad asked for extra dipping sauce.  Trust me, they said you needed it because look at how many onion rings you get.  And mom said the price you wouldn’t believe – $4.99 for this tower of an appetizer.

But I just have one question.  Not that they were good because mom/dad both said they were.  My question is why does daddy get to play with his food and I can’t?  Go ahead mom.  Tell me.  I’m waiting.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Travels in the South

  1. franhunne4u

    August 9, 2017 at 1:40 am

    Apart from this being another deep fried thing – it looks like food heaven. And I can totally understand your Daddy with the raw onions and the cooked ones. The raw onions I eat for several days (if you get my drift) – each breakfast, with a jam-toast, I have extra onion taste.
    Not so when the onion was cooked. I try to avoid raw onions therefore and love nice cooked glassy onions accompanying my liver. Yes, sometimes I eat liver. It’s not often. But when I do it must be somebody who KNOWS how to cook them perfect. slightly crisp on the outside and welldone inside.

     
    • Piglove

      August 9, 2017 at 10:53 am

      Well you know we are in the south… everything is fried here it seems – snorts and rolls with piggy laughter. XOXO – Bacon

       
  2. weggieboy

    August 9, 2017 at 5:59 am

    “Do as I say, not as I do!” Oh dear. I bet Mom told Dad off later. (Or told you she did!)

     
    • Piglove

      August 9, 2017 at 10:54 am

      You know, you’re right! She did. XOXO – Bacon

       
  3. katsrus

    August 9, 2017 at 7:30 am

    Those look so good.
    Sue B

     
  4. evilsquirrel13

    August 9, 2017 at 9:45 am

    Daddy’s no fool. Raw onions ARE nasty, but onion rings………. MMMMMMMM!!!

     
    • Piglove

      August 9, 2017 at 10:54 am

      Snorts and rolls with piggy laughter. Two of a kind you are. XOXO – Bacon

       
  5. My Golden Life

    August 9, 2017 at 10:48 am

    Aw, Bacon, that IS unfair, isn’t it?! I say you should be allowed to play with your food at least once for every time the humans play with theirs. 😃

     
    • Piglove

      August 9, 2017 at 10:56 am

      Exactly! I think that’s only fair, right? I love the way you think! XOXO – Bacon

       
  6. kandykid

    August 9, 2017 at 11:31 am

    Bacon, tell your Dad that I am with him on the Onion stuff, hate them but love onion rings. Grin

     
    • Piglove

      August 9, 2017 at 1:08 pm

      Shakes head. You two are so alike. Dad said you would absolutely LOVE these. XOXO – Bacon

       
  7. Tails Around the Ranch

    August 9, 2017 at 11:43 am

    W.O.W. That’s quite the tower of rings. Love the aioli sauce to spice them up.

     
    • Piglove

      August 9, 2017 at 1:08 pm

      Mom said that sauce was off the chain it was so delicious!! These are the kind of onion rings that you crave a couple of days later all over again – so says daddy. XOXO – Bacon

       
  8. Ladybuggz

    August 9, 2017 at 4:51 pm

    Why enjoy food if you can’t play with it is what I say!! I love playing with food but I’m better at wearing it! 🙂 I love onions any way I can eat them!! yum!!

     
    • Piglove

      August 9, 2017 at 5:35 pm

      We would get along just fine sweet friend. I love playing with my food. It’s so much fun! XOXO – Bacon

       
  9. Miss Harper Lee

    August 9, 2017 at 5:25 pm

    Oh, Bacon, my human mommy is an onion ring connoisseur and that yummy stack had her drooling. Tallulah and I had to hide the car keys because we’re pretty sure she was about to drive to Georgia in search of that delicacy. 😉

     
    • Piglove

      August 9, 2017 at 5:36 pm

      Well hecks bells beautiful. Jump in the car with her and come on! I’ll leave the light on for you. XOXO – Bacon

       
  10. Dennis the Vizsla

    August 12, 2017 at 7:58 pm

    hello bacon its dennis the vizsla dog hay i think those unyun rings and dipping sawse ar mayking my dada drool a littel!!! i bet they are delishus but he sez i kannot hav them becuz unyuns ar bad for dogs but i think he just wants them all for himself krool krool dada!!! ok bye

     
    • Piglove

      August 14, 2017 at 9:27 am

      I feel you my friend. Mom/dad didn’t bring me home any either. For other reasons. Daddy says I can’t hold my onions and that they make me have food ghosts. Snorts. He has room to talk. He has plenty of his own food ghosts if you know what I mean. XOXO – Bacon

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
