RSS

Spotlight Thursday – Meet Charlee and Chaplin

22 Jun

Spotlight Thursday

Welcome my friends to SPOTLIGHT THURSDAY.  This is the time that I will introduce you to one of my fellow anipals so you can get to know them better.  Some of them, you may already know.  We hope that you enjoy this series!


Name: We wrote a haiku about ourselves! Charlee and Chaplin
Two-toned cats in black and white
The Hipster Kitties

Age:  Charlee: We are exactly fifteen weeks old as of June 7th.
Chaplin: Yes, we’re still babies.
Charlee: Which I think means that nothing we do goes on our permanent records.
Chaplin: Yes, that’s right, Charlee. I looked it up.

Location:  Charlee: The San Diego area.
Chaplin: I thought it was Oceanside.
Charlee: Same thing.
Chaplin: Oh, okay.

Web/Blog Page:  Charlee: We wrote a free verse about it!
You can find us on Dennis’s Diary of Destruction
Which is at http://www.dennisthevizsla.com.
Although we should confess

That we haven’t seen Dennis destroy anything
Yet
Except for some scattered papers
That probably had it coming.

What were your first thoughts when you met your new parents?  Chaplin: It was when we were being kept in a big crate in the foster care office at the shelter.
Charlee: We were very young and very small.
Chaplin: They kept wanting to hold us.
Charlee: I think my first thought was, “Put me down.”
Chaplin: My first thought was “Why are these people recording our meows? Is it because they know we’re a great poetry team?”
Charlee: Later, of course, we found out it was because they were playing the meows back for Dennis at his meal times, to prepare him for our arrival.
Chaplin: I don’t think he appreciated the poems.
Charlee: I think he appreciated the meals, though.

What was the defining moment when you knew you were in your forever home?  Chaplin: Probably when they put up not one cat tree for us, but two cat trees.
Charlee: And a cat hammock with a scratching post!
Chaplin: You don’t commit to that kind of infrastructure for kittens who aren’t sticking around.

What has been your biggest “Oh no, now I’ve done it” moment so far in your home?  Chaplin: Probably when I let Dennis start sniffing me. Once you have dog breath all over you, I’m told, you can never get elected Cat President.
Charlee: Being Cat President is overrated.
Chaplin: How do you know that?
Charlee: Next question please.

 Who do you have wrapped around your paws more – mom or dad – and why?  Chaplin: Totally mom, because she likes to lie on the couch under a fleecy blanket and I like to make biscuits on the fleecy blanket, so I spend a lot of time on her lap purring and kneading dough.
Charlee: Totally dad. And I didn’t even have to do anything, either, except have a mustache.
Chaplin: You do things. I’ve seen you purring and rolling around on your back asking for belly scratches.
Charlee: That’s so he can see that my mustache looks like a three-leaf clover when I’m upside-down. Extra cuteness points.
Chaplin: Brilliant.

What’s the biggest misconception that humans think about you?  Charlee: Mom and dad think we’re just hipster poet kittens, but we’re really hipster poet performance artist kittens.
Chaplin: We keep doing interpretive dance for them, but they don’t get it.
Charlee: Yes, they just think we’re just wrestling.
Chaplin: We wrote a limerick about it.

There once were two cats who were dancing,
Pirouetting and mewing and prancing.
The humans kept saying,
“Oh how cute, they’re playing!”
And missed all the choreographing.




Hope you enjoyed meeting my friend – check back next week for another Spotlight edition!

 
30 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

30 responses to “Spotlight Thursday – Meet Charlee and Chaplin

  1. CarolMaeWY

    June 22, 2017 at 1:31 am

    Howdy Charlee and Chaplin. You two are sooo cute. Squee
    You’re a great pair. I bet you’re glad you’re together. Welcome to the blogging World.

     
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 10:01 am

      Charlee: Hello Carol Mae! Thank you! We’ve found that being cute is a good way to get chin and belly scratches so we’ve been working on it a lot!
      Chaplin: It’s also a good way to get treats. I love it when I get treats.
      Charlee: You mean you love it when WE get treats, don’t you?
      Chaplin: Isn’t that what I said?
      Charlee: Not exactly …

       
      • CarolMaeWY

        June 22, 2017 at 10:44 am

        Their cuteness will bring lots of both. Our little kitty is named Jasmine, but she is camera shy.

         
  2. easyweimaraner

    June 22, 2017 at 1:44 am

    oh they are the funniest feline friends ever… I love the limerick !!! and I love to watch them on their at tree… pardon… on their TWO cat trees :o)

     
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 10:05 am

      Charlee: Thank you Phenny! We love our cat tree too, it’s a lot of fun!
      Chaplin: That’s probably why Dennis wants to climb it.
      Charlee: We wrote a haiku about it!

      Vizsla wants to climb
      The cat tree, but is too big,
      And has the wrong claws.

       
  3. franhunne4u

    June 22, 2017 at 1:57 am

    You are a cute pair – and witty, too! Love your limerick, love your answers, love the way you two look! You even have the right attitude! Keep it going, boys!

     
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 10:11 am

      Chaplin: Hi Franhunne4u! Thank you! We take great pride in our facial hair!
      Charlee: Chaplin, we have hair everywhere.
      Chaplin: But it’s our soul patches and your mustache that make us hipsters.
      Charlee: Not everyone with a mustache is a hipster, Chaplin. But, you’re right, everyone with a soul patch is a hipster. I looked it up online.
      Chaplin: I knew it!

       
      • franhunne4u

        June 22, 2017 at 1:51 pm

        I have had a black and white cat myself – in fact, I had two – but both are not with me any longer. I hope you two live to a ripe old age beyond 20!

         
  4. sheilaenglehart

    June 22, 2017 at 8:33 am

    Poetry cats! Love!.

     
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 10:12 am

      Charlee: Hi Sheila! Thank you! So far we are undefeated in our poetry slams!
      Chaplin: Of course, we’ve only competed against Poet Smurf so far.
      Charlee: But he has “Poet” right in his name, so you know he’s tough competition!

       
  5. Amy

    June 22, 2017 at 9:12 am

    Welcome to the land of blogging, Charlee and Chaplin. You are the only poetry team I know, so I will be watching for more on your (Dennis’) blog. 🙂

     
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 10:19 am

      Charlee: Hi Amy! Thank you! We always enjoy seeing you at our blog!
      Chaplin: You mean Dennis’s blog, don’t you, Charlee?
      Charlee: Oh sure sure. It’s Dennis’s blog. For now. But I wrote a limerick about it!

      There were two cats, Charlee and Chaplin,
      Who spent all their time playing or napping.
      They took over a blog
      That belonged to a dog
      And then Dennis said “How did this happen?!”

       
      • Amy

        June 22, 2017 at 12:47 pm

        Yep, I can see that happening. Yep.

         
  6. Nylabluesmum

    June 22, 2017 at 10:40 am

    Woo Hoo!!!! Charlee an Chaplin you littul Hippysterss are DA BOMM!!!!
    What a fun an kewl inn terview! An yur poe=etree iss pawsum!!! Iss luvley to offishallee meet youss’ here!
    ***nose bumpsss*** Purrince Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

     
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 11:22 am

      Charlee: Thank you Siddhartha Henry! We appreciate the kind words from one of Dennis’s cat friends!
      Chaplin: Cat friends are the best friends if you ask me.
      Charlee: Of course, we’re cats, so we would think that even if it weren’t objectively true. Which it is.
      Chaplin: There have probably been studies.
      Charlee: Oh, I’m sure of it.

       
  7. Tails Around the Ranch

    June 22, 2017 at 1:50 pm

    Charlee, Chaplin (I got it without having to be told-heh, heh)…beyond adorable. That 3 leaf clover ‘stache is just too cute.
    Your fur-iend,
    Sam🐾

     
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 4:09 pm

      Charlee: Thank you, Sam! I just have to visit Dad once a day and roll over and he is putty in my hands!
      Chaplin: Showoff.

       
  8. Kate Crimmins

    June 22, 2017 at 2:28 pm

    You both are so stinkin’ cute! (Not that you stink or anything. It’s just a saying.)

     
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 4:11 pm

      Chaplin: Thank you Kate! I have heard Dad say that we take cuteness up to eleven. I’m not sure what that means but I think it’s pretty high.
      Charlee: I also heard him say the scale only goes up to ten.
      Chaplin: But that would make eleven off the scale.
      Charlee: I think you’re on to something, Chaplin …

       
  9. Ladybuggz

    June 22, 2017 at 4:04 pm

    Sweet kitties! So nice to have a companion ! ❤

     
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 4:12 pm

      Charlee: Thank you, Ladybuggz! I don’t know what I would do without my brother Chaplin!
      Chaplin: I do. When you can’t find me, you wander around the house meowing for me.
      Charlee: If you know that, then why do you wander off without me?
      Chaplin: Because I like to feel appreciated.

       
      • Ladybuggz

        June 22, 2017 at 4:14 pm

        LOL! 🙂

         
  10. onbutterflywingssite

    June 22, 2017 at 4:09 pm

    You two are beautiful and TY Bacon for interviewing them.

     
    • Piglove

      June 22, 2017 at 4:10 pm

      aaww thank you sweet friend. XOXO – Bacon

       
      • onbutterflywingssite

        June 22, 2017 at 8:22 pm

        you are so welcome sweet bacon

         
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 4:14 pm

      Charlee: Thank you, OnButterflyWings!
      Chaplin: We like to watch the butterflies outside the window near our cat tree! They are beautiful too!
      Charlee: Of course, we watch anything that moves out there. But some things are more fun to watch than others.
      Chaplin: Like butterflies!

       
  11. 15andmeowing

    June 22, 2017 at 8:40 pm

    Such cuties. I will follow your blog.

     
    • Dennis the Vizsla

      June 22, 2017 at 8:49 pm

      Charlee: Thank you, 15AndMeowing! We are enjoying meeting lots of new fellow kitties!
      Chaplin: Dennis has lots of kitty friends, but I’m pretty sure he has more dog friends than kitty friends.
      Charlee: We’re hoping to rectify that.
      Chaplin: I think we’re off to a good stop.
      Charlee: Yes, we are — we already have him outnumbered by two to one.
      Chaplin: I like those odds!

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
