RSS

Journey with Friends – Week 16

24 Apr

Welcome my friends to our weekly issue of Journey with Friends.  This is a time that we come together for support, for encouragement, for fellowship – all with one single goal in mind – to live better.  Welcome to our journey to share our goals and our accomplishments and our disappointments and frustrations.

Together we can do this!


Sunday, April 16, 2017 – It’s been a tough past couple of weeks my friends.  I’ll be honest in saying that I’ve been totally overwhelmed with getting my car straightened out and getting my body back to where it was before this awful ordeal.  I have an appointment next Wednesday to get the car looked at one more time to see if they can finally get it fixed.  And hopefully my body is at the point now that it will let me walk without feeling constant pain.  Miles Moved: 0.44

Monday, April 17, 2017 –  I’m starting it off slow but today was the first time I have walked for exercise in 12 days – it felt like a lifetime!  I took it really slow and could feel towards the end of my 30 minutes that it was beginning to be a bit too much.  I can honestly say that I’ve missed walking.  I just feel so much better moving.  Miles Moved: 2.53

Tuesday, April 18, 2017 –  What makes it worth walking?  Getting high five’s from perfect strangers who have been watching you walk for months now – LOL.  I was walking today and the offices across from us had a couple of guys outside.  They came up to me and said they had been missing me and was glad to see I was back.  Then they all gave me high fives.  Now, they didn’t slow me down one bit.  They walked and talked with me!  How fabulous was that?  Miles Moved: 2.46

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 –  The weather was perfect today – 70 degrees.  Awesome – felt like walking near the beach since the rains are still in our area.  What makes great upbeat walking?  Upbeat music.  I have 16 songs on my iPhone titled ‘workout’.  When I walk, I hit the shuffle button that way every day is different.  Out of the 16 songs, there are only TWO slow songs.  When they come on, I can take my walk down a notch.  But when the upbeat songs are playing, I’m hauling it on my path that I’ve created around my office building.  Miles Moved: 2.29

Thursday, April 20, 2017 –   It’s getting hot here in the south this week.  By the time I get done walking, I’m a puddle.  Definitely I will have to start bringing my gym bag to work next week.  Miles Moved: 2.48

Friday, April 21, 2017 –   Did extra time today on my walk.  I’m definitely feeling so much better.  I would probably say close to 100%.  YAY!  Thanks ya’ll so much for your kind thoughts during this awful time ❤ Miles Moved: 2.59

Saturday, April 22, 2017 –  Today is Earth Day.  I must get outside and enjoy Mother Nature today.  And for working out today, I earned a cool badge on my exercise app on my i-watch/i-phone.  Cool beans.  It’s the little things that make me happy 🙂  Miles Moved: 2.54


Thoughts for the week: After the two weeks I’ve had with trying to recuperate, I needed some motivation.  So I did some picture comparisons.  I think that’s good – especially for times like now where you need to see where you are coming from.  It’s not a race to see who gets there the fastest.  It’s about getting more fit for life.  That took me so long to figure out.  I took it easy for the two weeks after the accident.  I was beat up – purple, blue, swollen and bruised.  For those two weeks, it seemed like my aches ached.  I ache every day because of my RA so it’s nothing new for me to hurt.  But those two weeks, I literally felt like I had been hit by a car… well I was hit by a car – LOL.  Finally getting back to walking, it was like coming home this week.  Slowly my body is adjusting.  There is still some tightness in my sternum area but the swelling is finally going down.  I can breathe now without feeling like an elephant is doing a tap down on my chest.  So the bottom line – I’m back my friends.  I wanted to share this picture with you.  I still have a LONG ways to go but hey I’m here for the rest of my life ❤  Thanks for listening and your support sweet friends.  HUGS TO YOU ALL!


 

This week walked: 15.33

TOTAL 2017 Miles:  164.52

 
31 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2017 in Journey with Friends

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

31 responses to “Journey with Friends – Week 16

  1. easyweimaraner

    April 24, 2017 at 2:07 am

    BRAVO!!!! Apaws Apaws! You are a trooper!!!! I agree, good music is impawtant. I have a compilation, called 101 running songs… it’s a good mix :o)
    btw: mark bought me another one: 101 housework songs… nice …uuuh!

     
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 9:41 am

      That Mark – hilarious. I hope he likes listening to 101 housework songs as he cleans. LOL. Music is so key to keeping a good rhythm/pace. AND it helps make the time go by so much quicker.

       
      • easyweimaraner

        April 24, 2017 at 9:53 am

        they sadly have no 101 rose war songs at amazon…. ;O))))

         
      • Piglove

        April 24, 2017 at 12:29 pm

        LOL!! Jim laughs at my walking songs. He can’t figure out why I have some on my playlist. But they have a beat and you can move to them! One of them I picked because of a special friend – it’s Afro Circus – you got to move it move it – you know the song? I smile and laugh when it plays thinking of some of the things me and a friend did while listening to it last year. It was awesome!

         
  2. angelswhisper2011

    April 24, 2017 at 2:21 am

    You look magnificent, Miss June. We’re glad you are feeling better. Here comes an Extra Pawkiss for your achivement and big high paw too 🙂 ❤

     
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 9:42 am

      aaww blushes. Thank you my sweet friends. I really appreciate those!! ❤

       
  3. onespoiledcat

    April 24, 2017 at 5:52 am

    SO happy that you are feeling better – that accident added another layer of difficulty to your reaching your goal but you did NOT let it stop you and just look at the photo comparison for PROOF that you ARE rocking this whole “get into shape” thing! Very proud of you!

    Hugs, Pam

     
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 9:43 am

      thank you so much my sweet friend. It’s definitely a challenge but I’m ready for it. I’m trying to take pics along the way to show me it’s working!

       
      • onespoiledcat

        April 24, 2017 at 2:16 pm

        Positive reinforcement!!

         
  4. Hailey and Zaphod

    April 24, 2017 at 6:57 am

    Thrilled to hear you could be walking again. Keep it up, you are looking fabulous!

     
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 9:43 am

      I actually did miss it – weird huh?

       
  5. sheilaenglehart

    April 24, 2017 at 8:13 am

    Just keep walking, walking, walking. Just keep walking whenever you can. You look marvelous, darling.

     
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 9:43 am

      Thank you my sweet friend. I really appreciate that so much.

       
  6. Kate Crimmins

    April 24, 2017 at 9:49 am

    Looking good. Sometimes when you are in an accident, especially when you have RA, the damage takes time to develop and resolve. A woman at my gym came in after being rear-ended. She said she was fine. Well, she wasn’t. Within a week she had a whole series of issues that took months to resolve so you are doing very well.

     
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 12:27 pm

      It is never ending for sure. I figure I have to deal with pain everyday because of my RA, might as well walk to feel better in the long run. I’m taking it slow but getting back out has made me feel so much better mentally. And that’s half of the battle, right? Hugs

       
  7. kandykid

    April 24, 2017 at 12:15 pm

    A big northern Hug to you. You are looking great.

     
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 12:31 pm

      aaww thank you my sweet friend. Can you give a hug to that lovely bride of yours and tell her its from me. She has to start feeling better. Smooches!

       
  8. katsrus

    April 24, 2017 at 12:48 pm

    You can tell you have weight. Good for you. So glad your feeling better. Keep up the good work.
    Sue B

     
    • katsrus

      April 24, 2017 at 12:48 pm

      Sorry I meant lost weight. Hugs.

       
      • Piglove

        April 24, 2017 at 12:55 pm

        I knew ❤ You are way too sweet to me my dear friend. Smooches ❤

         
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 12:55 pm

      Smooches my sweet friend – thanks so much! XOXO – Bacon

       
  9. Miss Harper Lee

    April 24, 2017 at 2:10 pm

    What a difference a week can make. Loved the transition from your Sunday report to your Saturday report. What an excellent lesson in perseverance. So proud of you!

     
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 2:41 pm

      Thanks sweet friend. It’s definitely a challenge every week but a positive attitude always wins ❤

       
  10. CarolMaeWY

    April 24, 2017 at 2:10 pm

    So glad you are feeling better and you look great. Take care.

     
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 2:41 pm

      Thanks sweet friend. I appreciate that!

       
  11. Dianna

    April 24, 2017 at 3:06 pm

    Congrats! I need to start my walking again. I also have fast-tempo oldies on my MP3 player – makes walking so much easier.
    Continued success to you; glad you’re feeling better from the accident!

     
    • Piglove

      April 24, 2017 at 3:09 pm

      aaw thanks my sweet friend. Upbeat music is definitely a MUST to be able to zone out and walk. It makes the time go by faster and you are able to destress a bit. You go girl!

       
  12. pattisj

    April 25, 2017 at 12:46 am

    I haven’t had much time for blogging lately, sorry to hear about your accident. This week’s report looks like you’re making a comeback! Can’t keep a good woman down!

     
    • Piglove

      April 25, 2017 at 9:25 am

      aaw thanks my sweet friend. I appreciate that. I hope you are doing well. I’ve missed you! ❤

       
  13. Tails Around the Ranch

    April 29, 2017 at 11:05 am

    FABULOUS transformation! Keep up the great work!

     
    • Piglove

      April 29, 2017 at 12:57 pm

      Thanks sweet friend!! ❤

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
