RSS

Journey with Friends – Week 15

17 Apr

Welcome my friends to our weekly issue of Journey with Friends.  This is a time that we come together for support, for encouragement, for fellowship – all with one single goal in mind – to live better.  Welcome to our journey to share our goals and our accomplishments and our disappointments and frustrations.

Together we can do this!


Sunday, April 9, 2017 –  Okay the pain is not good.  There seems to be something more wrong that what it should be.  I made an appointment with my regular doctor for tomorrow afternoon.  Hopefully I can get some answers.  I hope.   Miles Moved: 0.47

Monday, April 10, 2017 –   Missed a couple of hours of work this afternoon and went back to the doctor.  After many, MANY X-rays, poking and prodding, we are waiting for some results to come back.  In the meantime, the doctor has changed some of the medicines originally prescribed to me.  And with the whiplash, I have a wonderful new accessory in a neck brace.  I feel like that is my cone of shame – poor dogs.  I really feel for them now when they have to wear a neck cone.  And no walking this week.  The doctor also wants to get me into physical therapy when some swelling comes down in my chest.  Miles Moved: 1.32

Tuesday, April 11, 2017 –   Okay, note to self.  Do not take a full pill of the new medicine when going to work.  It threw me for a loop!  I actually had to lay down during my lunch break I was so dizzy and sleepy.  Felt much better afterwards.  The pain is still intense and the swelling is harsh on my chest.  I can breathe and feel the pain.  The neck brace does help.  By mid-afternoon, it is so hard to keep my head held up.  With the neck brace, it helps.  I’m trying to be nice to myself during this time and recuperate.  I feel kind of useless though.  I can’t lift anything or do too much right now.  Miles Moved: 0.96

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 –  The doctor called me today and asked me to go for additional x-rays.  NOTE to pain – you can go away any day now and you won’t be missed.  I’m just saying 😦 Miles Moved: 1.16

Thursday, April 13, 2017 –  Finally got some answers from the gazillion x-rays that have been taken.  It’s going to take 6-8 weeks to heal.  I have to take it easy but can finally start walking again Monday – slowly though.  I can’t believe how much I have missed my walking.  Maybe I am changing to the other side – LOL.  Miles Moved: 0.87

Friday, April 14, 2017 –  Finally the pain is starting to go down. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still there but I’m almost feeling human. Definitely I’ll try walking Monday.   Miles Moved: 1.36

Saturday, April 15, 2017 –  Crappers. I think there is more unseeing damage to the back of my Jeep. My back passenger tail light is not working nor the break light on that side. I’ll be calling the insurance company Monday. Joybells.   Miles Moved: 1.06


Thoughts for the week: There are obstacles in life.  I have experienced a mountain of one in the past two weeks.  With the pain, meds and not being able to hardly move, I gained some weight back.  I could be harsh on myself and give up.  But you know what?  I’m not a quitter.  This is life and life happens.  So what am I going to do?  As my awesome mother-in-law would say, “Pull yourself up by your boot straps sweetie and hold on – it’s going to be a bumpy ride”!  So by the time you read this on Monday, April 17, 2017 – I will be back STRONG!  Thank you my friends for the emails and phone calls – they have really meant the world to me ❤


This week walked: 7.20

TOTAL 2017 Miles:  149.19


Weight Loss:  -5 pounds (95 more to go)

 
28 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2017 in Journey with Friends

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 responses to “Journey with Friends – Week 15

  1. easyweimaraner

    April 17, 2017 at 2:10 am

    I hope the pains go away from you … and I also hope that the jeep-damage can be fixed. it’s super annoying when sh*t happens and the pile grows more and more ;o(((((
    paws&fingers crossed that all bad things are history asap….

     
    • Piglove

      April 17, 2017 at 1:46 pm

      aaww thanks my friend. Hopefully the Jeep gets fixed soon along with my body. I’m so over all of this now. But I did get out and walk today before the rains hit.

       
  2. CarolMaeWY

    April 17, 2017 at 2:23 am

    Take care June. I’m sorry this all happened but physical therapy can do wonders. Moving should help some. Darn the keep stuff too. When it rains it pours. ❤️ {{{HUGS}}} ❤️

     
    • Piglove

      April 17, 2017 at 1:47 pm

      thanks sweet friend ❤ I'm hoping things can settle down now. I'm so over all of this stuff of negativity.

       
  3. grannysgotablog

    April 17, 2017 at 3:14 am

    sending prayers your way for full and speedy recovery

     
    • Piglove

      April 17, 2017 at 1:48 pm

      Thank you my sweet kind friend. I really do appreciate that!

       
  4. Genevieve

    April 17, 2017 at 6:22 am

    Healing is tough, but you are smart to be kind to yourself at this time. I was never a believer in physical therapy, till I had knee replacement surgery. Now I am a HUGE believer! Prayers for you to be strong and for your doctors to be wise and compassionate. Hang in there.

     
    • Piglove

      April 17, 2017 at 1:49 pm

      Thank you so very much my sweet friend. It has been a crazy couple of weeks. I hope that now I am on the mend!

       
  5. sheilaenglehart

    April 17, 2017 at 7:17 am

    So glad you are on the mend. I’ve had injuries like this and discovered that movement is key to keeping the body happy. You’ll get there!

     
    • Piglove

      April 17, 2017 at 1:50 pm

      I do believe you are so right! I finally got out and walked today. I really have missed it and felt a bit better afterwards.

       
  6. Deborah Boza Valledor

    April 17, 2017 at 7:27 am

    SHE and I are saying our prayers and sending you healing vibes that you will have relief from the pain ASAP and that your recovery will be swift and total. Hugs and wags

     
    • Piglove

      April 17, 2017 at 1:50 pm

      aaww thanks my cute little pal. I really appreciate that!

       
  7. katsrus

    April 17, 2017 at 7:42 am

    Hope the pain goes away soon. Sending prayers and hugs.
    Sue B

     
    • Piglove

      April 17, 2017 at 1:50 pm

      Thank you so very much my friend. I think I see the light now at the end of the tunnel.

       
  8. Kate Crimmins

    April 17, 2017 at 9:57 am

    *hugs*

     
  9. speedyrabbit

    April 17, 2017 at 11:45 am

    Bummer,it all takes time to heal from these things but sounds like each day is a little better.I walked about 17 miles last week and today was 3.42 miles so its all good,feel better soon lovely,xxx Rachel

     
    • Piglove

      April 17, 2017 at 1:51 pm

      You are doing so marvelous my friend. You go!! I walked today so I’m slowly getting back out there.

       
  10. Ladybuggz

    April 17, 2017 at 1:26 pm

    I hope your feeling better soon! ((hugs))

     
    • Piglove

      April 17, 2017 at 1:51 pm

      Thank you sweet friend!! I actually feel a little human today ❤

       
  11. pattisj

    April 17, 2017 at 4:53 pm

    I’m getting in my 10,000 steps/day, but now I have little time for anything else!

     
    • Piglove

      April 17, 2017 at 4:58 pm

      I know! Usually I do between 5-7,000 steps a day. That’s with working and having a life – LOL. Bless your heart for getting 10,000! You go girl!

       
  12. Hailey and Zaphod

    April 17, 2017 at 8:15 pm

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. You can only go forward. Do let this set back deflate you! Take care of yourself.

     
    • Piglove

      April 18, 2017 at 9:41 am

      aaww thanks sweet friends. I really do appreciate that. I’m off again – that’s for sure!

       
  13. onespoiledcat

    April 19, 2017 at 7:15 am

    Setbacks are part of life and as long as you don’t get caught up in the downs, you can still keep on traveling UP UP and away. I learned that during chemo……keep your eye on the prize – you will get through this dear girl.

    Hugs, Pam

     
    • Piglove

      April 19, 2017 at 9:24 am

      aaww thanks my sweet dear ‘cousin’. I do appreciate that. I am feeling so much like my old self this week. The pains have lessened from a 8-9 on a pain scale of 1-10 to about a 4-5, which is totally livable. My eyes are on the bigger picture. A more healthier me!

       
  14. Tails Around the Ranch

    April 19, 2017 at 1:13 pm

    How about decorating the neck brace with a fancy broach or scarf camouflaging it maybe? It’ll be fun and make you and those around you smile. I always say its better to look good than feel good (but do hope you feel better soon❣️).

     
    • Piglove

      April 19, 2017 at 1:26 pm

      aaw thanks sweet friend! Thankfully, I’m just wearing that brace to bed at night for a little support right now. Soon I hope to ditch it altogether – LOL. I felt like an anipal with a cone head. too funny!

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
