RSS

Journey with Friends – Week 14

10 Apr

Welcome my friends to our weekly issue of Journey with Friends.  This is a time that we come together for support, for encouragement, for fellowship – all with one single goal in mind – to live better.  Welcome to our journey to share our goals and our accomplishments and our disappointments and frustrations.

Together we can do this!


Sunday, April 2, 2017 –   I have to give a shout out today to my sister Tina.  She ran the 2017 Shamrock Shuffle in Chicago today.  What an awesome feat in itself!  This is a picture of her at the end of the race.  How appropriate for a beer after a Shamrock Shuffle, huh?  She has already signed up for another race in July.  Now give me a walking race – I might just try one!  Congrats my sister!!  ❤ Miles Moved: 1.45 miles

Monday, April 3, 2017 –   I knew it was bound to happen.  It’s raining outside this morning and we are in for storms all day.  I’m going to have to walk Lucifer when I get home from work unless it stops for a bit outside.  I hate changing my schedule up.  I like doing the walking for lunch and not messing my evenings up.  But we shall see how it goes.  Miles Moved: 2.41

Tuesday, April 4, 2017 –   Yay!  I was able to walk yesterday as well as today in between the storms.  Thank goodness for that.  There’s just something so fulfilling to walk outside and actually see things.  I love my treadmill but lately I can’t get enough of outside.  Miles Moved:  2.95

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 –   My friends, I’m down for the week.  Last night I was involved in a car accident on the way home.  I was stopped at a red light, when it turned green I took my foot off of the brake.  Right about then, someone flew into the back of me.  There wasn’t much damage to my Jeep – thank goodness.  The car that hit me had a lot of front end damage.  I went to the emergency room and was diagnosed with whiplash.  I’m on medicines and I’m home from work today.  I was told to take it easy the rest of the week to give myself some time to heal.  So, I’m not going to be walking the rest of the week.  But never fear – next week I will be back!  Miles Moved: 0.65

Thursday, April 6, 2017 –   I hate not walking.  I’m still having a lot of pain and now it seems it’s going down my back. Miles Moved: 1.02

Friday, April 7, 2017 –     I never thought I would say it but I miss my walking.  Miles Moved: 1.55

Saturday, April 8, 2017 –   Okay something has to give soon.  Tried going to the market but could not finish it.  The pain gets so intense my body starts shaking.  Then I take meds which make me nauseous and sleepy. I’m going back to the doctor Monday afternoon. I just don’t feel right.  Miles Moved: 0.53


Thoughts for the week:  never take life for granted.  I’m really feeling low right now. 😫


This week walked: 10.01

TOTAL 2017 Miles:  141.99


Weight Loss:  -20.00 pounds (80 more to go!)

 

 
34 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2017 in Journey with Friends

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

34 responses to “Journey with Friends – Week 14

  1. jaspersdoggyworld

    April 10, 2017 at 1:05 am

    Stay positive. This is just a blimp in your walking journey, You will get back walking with a renewed vigour and remember the weather will only get better.

     
    • Piglove

      April 10, 2017 at 10:00 am

      Thank you! I feel so down right now not being able to walk like I want. In fact, I’m sitting typing this with tears in my eyes due to the pain. Something has to give SOON. I don’t have time for this 😦

       
  2. franhunne4u

    April 10, 2017 at 1:11 am

    Accept that at times you just will not be able to do what you have planned to. This is a test of how good you are in your plans – if you can accept to make a break because you have to and start again when you can again THAT will show you have really made your walking part of your life.

     
    • Piglove

      April 10, 2017 at 10:00 am

      Thanks dear friend. I appreciate that so very much.

       
  3. easyweimaraner

    April 10, 2017 at 1:48 am

    I hope so much that your doc has a treatment when you see him today…. I’m so sad that this happened to you and I hope that at least the paper&insurance stuff goes smooth….and I#m sure as soon as the pains are gone you will stick with your plan and with your goals… you are a trooper and you can make it…

     
    • Piglove

      April 10, 2017 at 10:01 am

      Thanks sweet friend. It’s really bad right now. You just never know what around the corner has planned for you. I do miss my walking. I will be back stronger than before. I just have to get through this mountain of pain 😦

       
  4. CarolMaeWY

    April 10, 2017 at 2:51 am

    Take care of you June. Hope you feel better soon. I agree with all previous posts.

     
    • Piglove

      April 10, 2017 at 10:01 am

      Thanks sweet friend. I appreciate that. It has to get better ❤

       
      • CarolMaeWY

        April 10, 2017 at 2:14 pm

        Did you see the doctor today?

         
      • Piglove

        April 10, 2017 at 2:19 pm

        Going this afternoon – in about an hour. I pray for some relief ❤

         
      • CarolMaeWY

        April 10, 2017 at 3:38 pm

        ❤️ {{{HUGS}}} ❤️

         
  5. Cupcake

    April 10, 2017 at 6:35 am

    Missing your outside and your walking is actually a good thing. You’ll go back with renewed energy when the doctor gives you the OK. You can’t rush healing so relax and enjoy and continue to look forward to the routine that was working so well. It’s easy to let yourself think you’ll never be better when something like this happens, BUT YOU WILL. I was starting to think the cone and tail bandages would be my whole future, but soon, I will be back to normal, too!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

     
    • Piglove

      April 10, 2017 at 10:02 am

      Me and you are troopers beautiful. We will be back in full force soon. I know we will. ❤

       
  6. Hailey and Zaphod

    April 10, 2017 at 6:51 am

    So sorry to hear about the accident, hope you are feeling better very soon.

     
    • Piglove

      April 10, 2017 at 10:03 am

      Thanks sweet friends. One day at a time right now.

       
  7. ixcanaan

    April 10, 2017 at 8:27 am

    I am so sorry that this whiplash thing is causing so much pain and interfering so strongly with your new healthy habits. From personal experience, I highly recommend you get a theraputic massage and/or a chiropractic treatment(s). It will probably decrease the pain by 60% to 75% almost immediately. Good luck!

     
    • Piglove

      April 10, 2017 at 10:04 am

      Thanks my friend. I have a doctor’s appointment this afternoon for further evaluation. It seems like the pain is radiating down my back now. I will mention the massage to the doctor. ❤

       
  8. Kate Crimmins

    April 10, 2017 at 8:58 am

    So sorry! You were doing great and will be back at it again. Minor blip that comes with great pain.

     
    • Piglove

      April 10, 2017 at 10:04 am

      Thanks my friend. You are right. I will be back!

       
  9. sheilaenglehart

    April 10, 2017 at 9:30 am

    Follow doctor’s orders and be careful.

     
    • Piglove

      April 10, 2017 at 10:04 am

      Thanks sweet friend. I will. Seeing the doctor this afternoon. Will review everything with her before I get back to my walking.

       
  10. speedyrabbit

    April 10, 2017 at 12:47 pm

    OMB hope you got some further treatment from your doctor,Just remember this isn’t your fault just concentrate of getting better dear friend,much love to you,xx Rachel

     
    • Piglove

      April 10, 2017 at 1:01 pm

      aaww thanks sweets ❤ I do appreciate that. I'm taking it one day at a time and trying not to get too down or ahead of myself. Off to the doctor this afternoon to try to get some answers. XOXO

       
  11. katsrus

    April 10, 2017 at 3:07 pm

    Hope the pain goes away soon. Sending hugs and prayers.
    Sue B

     
    • Piglove

      April 11, 2017 at 8:45 am

      Thank you my sweet friend. XOXO – Bacon

       
  12. Ladybuggz

    April 10, 2017 at 10:17 pm

    Stay off your feet girl! I’ve had whiplash and know it’s painful! You’ll know when you can walk again….not just yet though! rest…..take pain meds and relax! 🙂

     
    • Piglove

      April 11, 2017 at 8:52 am

      Thank you my sweet friend. I had another appointment with the doctor last night. She took more x-rays and changed my meds a bit. I’m waiting on the results for the x-rays. They should be interesting. ❤

       
      • Ladybuggz

        April 11, 2017 at 2:52 pm

        I hope they and you are ok, I ended up with bone spurs in my neck….not fun! Rest fitfully!

         
      • Piglove

        April 12, 2017 at 9:22 am

        Yep, some showed up on one of my x-rays as well. Slowing shaking head. Does it ever end?

         
      • Ladybuggz

        April 12, 2017 at 12:12 pm

        Oh no! Um….Oh No! lol….

         
      • Piglove

        April 12, 2017 at 1:29 pm

        I know. I’m so not thrilled 😦

         
  13. Tails Around the Ranch

    April 12, 2017 at 9:53 am

    Yikes! I’m so sorry to hear about your accident. Feel better soon! Congrats on your mileage-you’re doing a great job-keep it up.

     
    • Piglove

      April 12, 2017 at 10:44 am

      aaww thanks my friend. I’m down this week from exercising as well. Hopefully though next week I can start slowly back again.

       
      • Tails Around the Ranch

        April 12, 2017 at 10:49 am

        Oh dear. Feel better soon. We’re sending loads of digital hugs 🤗 and tail wags. 😍

         

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
