RSS

Journey with Friends – Week 9

06 Mar

Welcome my friends to our weekly issue of Journey with Friends.  This is a time that we come together for support, for encouragement, for fellowship – all with one single goal in mind – to live better.  Welcome to our journey to share our goals and our accomplishments and our disappointments and frustrations.

Together we can do this!


February 26, 2017 –  With the stress of the washer/dryer delivery and having a couple of asthma attacks over the past several days, today I just treated myself nice.  You can’t beat someone when they are down.  And trust me friends.  I was DOWN today.  Thank goodness that the delivery is behind me.  The asthma is behind me (I feel so much better now).  The errands are behind me.  Now I can concentrate back to normalcy tomorrow.  Today, I didn’t even get dressed for most of the day let alone put on my i-Watch.  I’m not even beating myself up today, which I would in the past.  This is a lifetime change, not a six month or year change.  I’m okay with myself for letting go today.  I think we need to do that every once in a while anyway.  Tomorrow though – back to the grind!  I promise! ❤

February 27, 2017 – Back to work, back to normalcy and back to walking.  Yeah baby!  It really felt good after missing the past several days.  You don’t think my body is adjusting and starting to – gulps – love walking, do you?  LOL  Miles Moved: 2.47

February 28, 2017 –  Let’s be real shall we?  This is life.  Life happens.  I like to say that I take stress pretty well but with all that happened over the weekend, I failed.  Not just failed but failed miserably.  Okay the hub unit says I didn’t but we all know ourselves better than anyone else, right?  So let’s get it out there and admit to some things.  I’m human.  I didn’t walk (exercise) for FOUR days. I didn’t monitor what I ate like I should.  No I didn’t overindulge or pig out but my food choices could have been better.  And here’s the big admission.  I drunk a soda.  A real fully leaded Coke.  Sigh – it’s out now.  I broke and broke terribly especially when the asthma attacks started happening Saturday.  Was it as good as I remembered – HELL YEAH!  Am I over it now so I can move on and get back to living clean?  YES-YES-YES.  I was beating myself up and I thought twice about posting.  Then it dawned on me.  Some of you actually do read my journey on my weight loss.  I refuse to sugar coat my life.  So with that being said, you get the truth – the real me.  It may not be wonderful every week.  But the good news is I’m back baby!  Miles Moved: 3.11

March 1, 2017 –   The rains are moving in today.  Hopefully they will tend to happen during the nights so I can get my walks in outside.  I mean I do have my treadmill Lucifer but I really enjoy getting outside and feeling the sun on my body which might I add I’ve never wanted before.  Strange huh?  And I’m happy to say things are back to their old selves.  I’m on a mission friends.  ❤ Miles Moved: 2.24

March 2, 2017 –  The rains waited last night until after I got home.  I’m loving this sunshine during my walks.  Before when I worked through lunch, I would never see the sun.  That’s a crying shame!  And with my walks, I’ve created a playlist for music to listen to while putting in walk time.  It has some fabulous upbeat music from all generations.  It’s fabulous!  Miles Moved:  1.96

March 3, 2017 –  I weighed this morning.  The scales has not moved.  However, I *know* my body is changing and that makes me happy.  I’ll go with the way I “feel” anyday over that stupid scale – giggles.  And today during my walk, it was cold and windy outside.  But that was okay.  I dressed up in a coat with my hoody looking like a snowman doing my 30 minute walk.  Call that determination you stinking scales – LOL!  Miles Moved: 2.37

March 4, 2017 –  Errand day – don’t you just love the weekend to catch up on everything – LOL.  Miles Moved: 1.57


Thoughts for the week:  9 weeks adjusting to a new way of eating and living.  There have been ups and downs but for the most part I’ve adjusted.  There’s a lot more to go one step at a time chasing my shadow one day at a time.  Thank you my friends for your support! ❤️


This week walked: 13.72

TOTAL 2017 Miles: 113.11


Weight Loss:  -12.00 pounds (88 more to go!)

 

 
20 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2017 in Journey with Friends

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “Journey with Friends – Week 9

  1. CarolMaeWY

    March 6, 2017 at 1:32 am

    June I hope your asthma has gotten better? Is that how I should ask about asthma? Can you send some rain our way, please? We have a fire alert because of our dry wind and no snow.
    You have a great attitude about your weight loss journey. It’s why I think you’ll be successful. Enjoy your week.

     
    • Piglove

      March 6, 2017 at 11:07 am

      aww thank you my sweet friend. That’s exactly how you ask about asthma 🙂 It is much better – thank you so much for asking. Usually I have no problem with it but I think with the on-coming pollen outside and cleaning out the house, I got some dust bunnies running. Thank you for your kind words. It is a commitment that has its ups/down such as life, right? Love you my friend.

       
  2. easyweimaraner

    March 6, 2017 at 2:53 am

    you are still on the “yellow brick road” to meet the wizard of Oz :o) there is nothing wrong with a coke… our body needs a reward from time to time. and it needs the real stuff, nothing with stevia or sweetener… the zero-calories brew makes it much more worse… our body thinks oh sweet stuff, fine…and it starts the normal process for sugar-processing… and if it gets only zero-stuff it acts like a spoiled rotten brat who screams I WANT CANDY in an endless loop…

     
    • Piglove

      March 6, 2017 at 11:08 am

      You said it perfectly dear friend! I went cold turkey for 56 days and now I go another 56 days until another one 🙂 I’ve got the exercise down now. Now it’s getting the food choices down perfectly. With the combination of the two, Mr. Scale will have to move in the right direction, right?

       
  3. franhunne4u

    March 6, 2017 at 5:47 am

    One can of soda is nothing to beat yourself up about. You should know that. Not one every day, but one in a long while. Knowing fully well you won’t repeat it for a long time.

    BTW: My washing machine broke down the previous weekend (on the 25th) and on the 27th I had to put down my tomcat. So I won’t beat up myself over some extra chocolate when the carb-craving before my time of the month set in last Saturday. It is ok. Now and then. To stop the craving getting so strong that you give up altogether to live better.

    I am not getting any good feelings from walking (hate it with a passion). So in these for me dark days (Tom has been with me for nearly 11 years) I think I may be a little less concentrating on healthy eating. This, too, will pass. And I am not back to 100g of chocolates a day like I was in the 90s.

     
    • Piglove

      March 6, 2017 at 11:10 am

      Oh no! Bless your heart my dear friend. I’m so sorry to hear about your tomcat. I can imagine the pain you are going through right now. Please know that we are here for you always ❤

       
      • franhunne4u

        March 6, 2017 at 11:49 am

        That is kind of you. But this was a parting with a very long period of mourning beforehand. He was getting thinner and thinner and I took him to the vet in December. But he lost another Kilo in two months – just skin and bones in the end. He was not eating properly lately – always a big warning sign. He went for a few crumbs of treats, but had pain when they reached his stomach. His kidneys were that bad already. He doesn’t have pain anymore. My only justification and consolation. Miss him.

         
  4. Genevieve

    March 6, 2017 at 6:07 am

    Muscles weigh more that fat, so as you walk and your body grows some real, live muscles, the scale may fight you a little. You can tell by your clothes that you’re doing better. I think a soda after every 10 pound loss is a fair trade off. So count that as the soda for your first 10 and plan to have another when you hit that on the scale again. This is happening!

     
    • Piglove

      March 6, 2017 at 11:11 am

      What an awesome plan. I like it! This is happening for sure. I was a little discouraged when we weighed in this month and the scale didn’t move. Then I thought to myself the body is changing and the clothes are fitting better so I’ll take that anyday over that darn stupid scale!

       
  5. katsrus

    March 6, 2017 at 7:09 am

    Hope your feeling better. Enjoy your week.
    Sue B

     
    • Piglove

      March 6, 2017 at 11:12 am

      Much better – thank you my sweet friend. AND I hope YOU are feeling better too. HUGS

       
  6. Hailey and Zaphod

    March 6, 2017 at 7:33 am

    Don’t beat yourself up about the coke. Accept it happened and move on. There are going to be set backs in the journey forward but the goal is to keep going forward.
    Walking is my favourite thing, it makes getting up at 5 and going out in the cold and the dark (the joys of being Canadian) a little easier.

     
    • Piglove

      March 6, 2017 at 11:13 am

      5AM? WOW – you are determined – grins. I usually take my walk around 11:15-11:30am Monday-Friday. That kind of gives me a lift to finish the rest of the day. And like you said – it’s a lifetime journey. We got this! Thanks my friend.

       
  7. Ladybuggz

    March 7, 2017 at 1:49 am

    Good for you! I craved sweets every day, now I don’t even think twice about them…I’ve had an old fav (Reeses P Nut Butter cups) unopened …sitting beside my chair for 2 days now…Haven’t tempted me once…except hubby took me to Mcdonalds for a date night..ice cream cone last night! I couldn’t say no!! lol…

     
    • Piglove

      March 7, 2017 at 12:02 pm

      LOL! Hey, I don’t blame you for that ice cream. I refuse to miss a ‘cherished’ moment because I can’t eat something. I will eat less and walk more for any of those moments any day ❤
      And that's funny you say that about the Reeses. We have a box of Kit Kats in the fridge at home. They don't tempt me at all these days which is a great thing!

       
  8. The Canadian Cats

    March 7, 2017 at 6:25 pm

    Wow…you are doing fantabulous girl!! So you had a fully loaded coke. It’s a slip but manageable. It’s not like you had a dozen. I too have been watching what I eat and peddaling sometimes, not everyday. The best I can say is I haven’t gained anything but I haven’t lost anything either.

    Jean

     
    • Piglove

      March 8, 2017 at 10:32 am

      I do know that feeling! The scale hasn’t moved lately but my body has been shifting so I’m good with that. The thing is to keep going and don’t stop! We both got this ❤

       
  9. speedyrabbit

    March 9, 2017 at 1:19 am

    We all have rough weeks and this one was yours no biggy to worry about, and the fact that you didn’t lose any weight no biggy either cause you didn’t gain any either so you was able to maintain and that is great news because once you get to where you want to be it will mean that you will be able to maintain it,great job ,keep it up,xx Rachel

     
    • Piglove

      March 9, 2017 at 9:40 am

      aaww that is most excellent and I didn’t think about that. I think I’ve got this maintaining thing down – LOL. Hopefully the weight will start sliding off now. I have felt my body shifting for the past couple of weeks. That’s a great sign, right?

       
      • speedyrabbit

        March 10, 2017 at 12:23 am

        Absolutely 🙂 xx Rachel

         

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
