RSS

Spotlight Thursday – Meet Anna Comnena

09 Feb

Spotlight Thursday

Welcome my friends to SPOTLIGHT THURSDAY.  This is the time that I will introduce you to one of my fellow anipals so you can get to know them better.  Some of them, you may already know.  We hope that you enjoy this series!


Name:  Anna Comnena

Age:  8 and a half years

Location:  Southern California USA

Web/Blog Page:  http://threecatyard.wordpress.com/

What were your first thoughts when you met your new parents?  I had been abandoned by my family to a shelter. First they had a kid that abused me, then there were lots of cats in the shelter that worried me. I had a special place by a flower I liked, the picture on the internet was taken there and that’s where I stayed.  When they took me away across the yard for introductions, I was polite but soon worried that some cat would take my spot away so I went right back to it.

What was the defining moment when you knew you were in your forever home?  He put me in the same room the Rhea and Davout stayed. I loved it! So big! Dad soon learned not to put his hand over my head or I would swat it hard, but since I have no claws there it didn’t hurt so I’d snap with teeth too. After some learning, I learned to trust him enough to stop that.  After a time, I started to explore but Rhea and Davout coming close made me hiss at them over and over and run back to my room.  If they come in I get up high and hiss at them.  After a while Rhea started to chase me back to my room and we would fight, so the door is usually closed. I purr and purr when Dad comes to visit, but if I think another cat is outside the door. I start to fret and get upset.

What has been your biggest “Oh no, now I’ve done it” moment so far in your home?   I always do the same thing and never change much, except I’m not as afraid of people as I was before.

 Who do you have wrapped around your paws more – mom or dad – and why?  I have a room of my own, with lots of safe cubbies to sleep in and a window. That has to count.

What’s the biggest misconception that humans think about you?  That I am extremely stubborn. I am way more stubborn than that.



Hope you enjoyed meeting my friend – check back next week for another Spotlight edition!

 
17 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2017 in Spotlight Thursday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Spotlight Thursday – Meet Anna Comnena

  1. easyweimaraner

    February 9, 2017 at 1:28 am

    hahaha I love what you said about being stubborn.. I think that’s the truth and it counts for many of our furfriends. I’m glad you found a super home far away from that evil kid ..and I totally love your name… it’s unique and it has something super special…

     
    • Oldcat

      February 9, 2017 at 2:33 am

      Anna Comnena was a princess of the Byzantine Empire and a historian who wrote the story of the First Crusaders as they passed through on the way to the Holy Land.

      I like giving cats majestic names usually from history, because you can always shorten them or give nicknames when you need to, but a cat named MuffyWuffy will be beaten up at the vets by the other cats.

       
      • easyweimaraner

        February 9, 2017 at 2:50 am

        that’s a very good idea to pick names with a history and a story behind… well done!!!

         
      • weggieboy

        February 9, 2017 at 8:03 am

        I agree, Oldcat. Mine are named after the apostle and patron saint of Scotland (Andrew) and a noble Scottish clan (Douglas, which is also my first name). I had a cat Louis (Louie, as in Louis XIV the sun king of France or Louie “Satchmo” Armstrong, another cool cat, depending on his mood!).

        I am happy to read more about your kitties here, especially Anna since she clearly has landed in a great home where she is safe and secure for the first time in her life.

         
  2. franhunne4u

    February 9, 2017 at 1:55 am

    Oh, no, you poor thing – somebody has amputated the first part of your toes? That is awful. No wonder you panic when you see another cat – how should you defend yourself against them if they were attacking you?

     
    • Oldcat

      February 9, 2017 at 2:28 am

      While I don’t think the declawing helps, I rather think her other experiences of abuse and abandonment are primarily to blame. Almost anything besides what she does would likely make things better…if she didn’t hiss at other cats, if she actually attacked the other cats, all of which are much smaller than her, she would gain confidence and they would avoid her and she would have her space. But the poor girl just is wired in to her patterns and so far won’t change.

      Luckily, having a room of her own and being shut in makes her happy rather than upset and she tolerates my attempts to bring other cats in or to bring her out into safe enclosures in other rooms for visits rather than change at all so far.

       
      • weggieboy

        February 9, 2017 at 8:10 am

        I commend you, Oldcat, both for rescuing an older kitty, then making her comfortable and happy after years of abuse. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog since Anna came into your home, knowing she couldn’t be in a better place. I hope others reading about Anna realizes children need to be supervised around animals. They need to understand why they don’t harm the animal physically or mentally, and that the animal will give them back all the love and joy in the world if they are treated well.

         
    • weggieboy

      February 9, 2017 at 8:06 am

      This barbaric practice is dying out all too slowly in America. Fortunately, some states banned it and many veterinarians in all states won’t do the operation because it only benefits the furniture of the people who stupidly insist on it! (They shouldn’t have the cats in the first place if that is an issue with them!)

       
  3. Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC

    February 9, 2017 at 2:33 am

    Hi it’s TINK – I’m a Shih Tzu who blogs (well, guest-blogs on my Mom’s blog, anyway – she really needs my input to liven things up over there on ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com). She says I am definitely So-Much-MORE (or maybe it is too much more, I’m not really sure which).

    I’m so sorry you had a rough start and that those kids were mean to you, but congratulations on finding a forever home where they are nice — and where you even have your own room. ALL the rooms here are my own rooms, but I spend most of my time with my Mom in her office where she works in our same apartment – at least until we go to bed, anyway.

    It’s nice to meet you. If Mom lets me have another blog party, you’re definitely invited. (It’s not too late to leave a calling card at my last one, btw.)

    Woof! TINK

     
    • Oldcat

      February 9, 2017 at 2:41 am

      Thanks for the thought! The other cats have all the rooms too except for hers, too. I’d love it if Anna loosened up and made her world bigger, but at times you just have to work with what you have. She is definitely happy as she is now and that is worth a lot to us both.

      I do try to ‘break the ice’ without stressing Anna too much from time to time and so far she puts up with it without changing her ways. It would be nice if Rhea let her be but after all the unprovoked hissing she took in the several months before she started bullying her I can’t say her reaction is unreasonable..

       
      • Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC

        February 9, 2017 at 2:49 am

        Give it time. I’m highly allergic to cats, but my Dad had more than a few once he became an empty nest-er (7 at one particular time).

        He had one he rescued that he didn’t even SEE for several months, she was so traumatized – but, except to talk softly in rooms where she hid, he left her alone, watching to make sure she was eating, etc. She eventually calmed down enough to hide under my Dad’s favorite recliner, peeking out from time to time to make sure he was there.

        He said she turned out to be the most affectionate cat he ever knew – the quintessential lap kitty.
        xx,
        mgh

         
  4. Oldcat

    February 9, 2017 at 2:58 am

    Well, she’s been around for over two years now. I won’t say I’ve given up, but I don’t expect her to bend all that much now. But it’s ok, she doesn’t have to change for my sake.

     
  5. Skyler Braveheart

    February 9, 2017 at 7:07 am

    HI Anna! Wow, you did get rescued! Stubborn can be a great tool. Hope you can make friends with the other cats, but these things take time. Xxxx Fiona

     
  6. Kate Crimmins

    February 9, 2017 at 9:51 am

    You are a very beautiful cat and deserve the great home you have.

     
  7. Genevieve Petrillo

    February 9, 2017 at 4:31 pm

    I love a strong, stubborn kitty. You certainly sound like you’re doing OK taking care of yourself, sweetie.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

     
  8. Tails Around the Ranch

    February 10, 2017 at 10:47 am

    Such a beautiful looking kitty. Happy to hear you managed to find a fur-ever home that treats you well.

     
  9. Nylabluesmum

    February 12, 2017 at 4:08 pm

    Deerest Anna Kittygurl may mee say yur a reel Beautee?? Yur furs look like velvet an yur face iss so adoorabull.
    You are a Purrincess inn yur littul Tower room an mee hopes with time you will leern to trust an luv again…
    Sinseerlee, Purrince Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

     

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
