RSS

Spotlight Thursday – A Celebration of our Friend Ali Detweiler

25 Aug

Spotlight Thursday

Welcome my friends to SPOTLIGHT THURSDAY.  This is the time that I will introduce you to one of my fellow anipals so you can get to know them better.  Some of them, you may already know.  We hope that you enjoy this series!


UPDATE:  This post was already set up to highlight my sweet friend Ali.  Then we heard about her passing on Friday 08/12/2016.  We were all so upset to hear the news just as everyone else was.  We went back and forth trying to decide to post this today but then thought YES.  Let’s celebrate the life of our good friend Ali.  She had a tough life but was such a fighter.  She brought such happiness to her humans Ruth and Tim.    We just know that she is running over the Rainbow Bridge looking down at everyone now.  

Today let blogville unite and share our love to Ali’s parents by leaving messages of comfort during this horrible time of grief. ❤ 


Name:  Ali Detweiler

Age:  A little over 6 years in human years

Location:  out on the Washington Coast

Web/Blog Page:  http://www.ruth7933.wordpress.com/

What were your first thoughts when you met your new parents?  I was scared because my Mama had given birth to me and my sister in a wood pile and she had died and left us alone.  The people who found us loved us and got us healthy and then found us homes.

What was the defining moment when you knew you were in your forever home?  I knew I was in my forever home when my daddy picked me up and I snuggled into his neck and he held me and cried.  I tried to lick the tears off of his face.

What has been your biggest “Oh no, now I’ve done it” moment so far in your home?   I ate the christmas tree and had to go to the vets and have surgery to remove the glass from the pretty colored christmas tree balls that were in my belly.

 Who do you have wrapped around your paws more – mom or dad – and why? MY daddy cause he lets me have the whole left side of the bed that used to be mamas.

Other Comments?  I want to tell you that I was born with a terminal illness called feline auto immune disease.  My mama and sister both died from it.  My Mama kitty passed it onto us when we were born.  My mama and daddy got me spay and all of my shots and feed me good and I am an inside kitty.  When I turned two, I got really sick and almost died.  My nose was falling off like raw hamburger and my throat was filled with ulcers.  The pads of my feet were also covered in sores from the feline auto immune disease.  My vet had surgery on my nose to take off the part that was falling off.  This all happened in a two weeks period.  The vet said she understood if they wanted to let me go, but my daddy cried and i looked at him and started fighting to live.  My mama had to feed me through an oral syringe and give me water that way too.  She did this for over a year until I could eat again.  I have to have very expensive crystal cat litter and food and my medicine is expensive too but my mama and daddy always make sure i have it.  My vet said she did not think i would live past a year with this and I have been living with it for over four years now.  I have been in remission for over a year now and I love my mama and daddy and they love me.



Hope you enjoyed meeting my friend – check back next week for another Spotlight edition!

 
34 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2016 in Spotlight Thursday

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

34 responses to “Spotlight Thursday – A Celebration of our Friend Ali Detweiler

  1. ruth7933

    August 25, 2016 at 1:28 am

    TY so very much Bacon and we are very pleased and grateful that our sweet baby was with us as long as she was.
    ~Ruth~

     
    • Piglove

      August 25, 2016 at 10:49 am

      That is so true. And you know she is over the Rainbow looking down watching over you sweet friends. We send you major hogs and snout kisses… and shoulders if you ever need them XOXO – Bacon

       
  2. gentlestitches

    August 25, 2016 at 2:23 am

    What a beautiful kitty. Taken too soon but still lovely to meet her.XXX

     
    • ruth7933

      August 25, 2016 at 11:19 am

      TY Bacon and major hugs and loves back

       
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 2:07 pm

      TY so very much and I am sorry I am late on my reply as it has been very hard with our sweet baby no longer with us, I appreciate your kindness and condolences so very much.
      ~Ruth-Alis Mama~~

       
  3. franhunne4u

    August 25, 2016 at 2:48 am

    I am so glad to read this, it is very hot here, even my eyes are sweating profusely. Still I am glad – as it reads a little bit like the story of my Mashka who passed away because of her illness when she was 5. January 2011.

    Those “problem fur children” are the ones that we invest most in – all the hope and the anxiety. And when they finally die, we have tried our best to make their stay with us as good as possible. Still it hurts so much.

     
    • Piglove

      August 25, 2016 at 10:50 am

      aaww hogs and snout kisses sweet friend. The hurt goes so very deep for sure. XOXO – Bacon

       
      • franhunne4u

        August 25, 2016 at 12:07 pm

        It always does, little oinker. Your humans know that, too.

         
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 2:13 pm

      Oh yes it does hurt so much and they are the ones who capture and own our hearts forever even when they are gone. I am so sorry you have experienced this also and even with the deep pain of grief, I wouldn’t have missed a day Ali was with us.
      TY so much.
      ~Ruth-Alis Mama~

       
  4. easyweimaraner

    August 25, 2016 at 3:57 am

    I’m so sorry for Ali…. but it was such a sweet idea to publish her highlight post that way… now it is a tribute to a beautiful kitty too…

     
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 2:13 pm

      TY so very much and I appreciate your words so very much.
      ~Ruth-Alis Mama~

       
  5. katsrus

    August 25, 2016 at 7:38 am

    Beautiful kitty. Sending prayers and purrs for her family.
    Sue B

     
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 2:14 pm

      TY so very much and your prayers and purrs are so very much appreciated.
      ~Ruth~

       
  6. sheilaenglehart

    August 25, 2016 at 8:48 am

    Many blessings to Ali’s parents who did such a marvelous job of caring for her. Every animal deserves that kind of love.

     
    • Piglove

      August 25, 2016 at 10:51 am

      Yes they do! Unlimited and abounding love through sickness and in health. It’s beautiful! XOXO – Bacon

       
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 2:14 pm

      TY so very much an you kind words comfort us.
      ~Ruth-Alis Mama~

       
  7. CarolMaeWY

    August 25, 2016 at 8:58 am

    Thanks for the beautiful story of Ali.
    Ali is also the name of a kitten angel we once had.
    ❤️ {{{HUGS}}} ❤️

     
    • Piglove

      August 25, 2016 at 10:56 am

      aaw hogs and snout kisses sweet friend. XOXO – Bacon

       
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 2:15 pm

      TY so very much and so sorry you have an angel kitten named Ali and wish she could have been with you forever. Hugs to you and your also.
      ~Ruth-Alis Mama~

       
  8. Kate Crimmins

    August 25, 2016 at 9:43 am

    Such a sad story but I bet that she brought much love to that family!

     
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 2:18 pm

      TY so very much and yes she brought love and sunshine to our hearts.
      ~Ruth-Alis Mama~

       
  9. Squid

    August 25, 2016 at 11:54 am

    Dear Ruth,
    It seems like she was the sweetest cat, I’m so sorry for your loss, but glad that you had the time with her that you did. 🙂 Sending love and hugs from afar.

     
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 2:21 pm

      Ty and she was the sweetest cat ever and we are also grateful for the time we got to be with her. TY so much for your love and hugs.
      ~Ruth-Alis Mom~

       
  10. Nylabluesmum

    August 25, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    Mee-you what a bitter sweet interview Houdini an Unccle Bacon…
    Deer sweet Ali….shee was feisty wasn’t shee?? Mee wished mee could have known her better….
    Fank you fur sharin her with all of us….
    Mee iss goin to ask LadyMum if wee can go to Ali’ss Pawentss bloggie….
    ***sniffullss*** Siddhartha Henry =^,.^=

     
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 4:25 pm

      TY so much Siddhartha Henry and I am sorry Ali did not have a better chance to get to know you.
      Hugs
      ~Ruth-Alis Mom~

       
  11. The Canadian Cats

    August 25, 2016 at 12:52 pm

    Ali had a rough fight for the time she had here on earth but she was loved unconditionally. A true fighter. Ali will be missed something terrible. We give our purrs and wishes to Ruth and Tim for a gentle grieving.

    Hugs,

    Shoko and Kali

     
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 4:26 pm

      TY so much and your words are a comfort to our hearts.
      ~Ruth-Alis Mom~

       
  12. databbiesotrouttowne

    August 25, 2016 at 3:53 pm

    Godspeed your journey Ali; you are a gorgeous house panther. We send our sincerest sympathies to your mom and dad; we know it still hurts. We also know how much you were loved, and still are, and always will be. And as cats; we also know if you were to speak human; you would tell your mom and dad; thanx for everything, and I love you both too ~~~~~~ ♥♥♥♥♥

    boomer, dai$y, tuna, dude and sauce

     
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 4:27 pm

      Boomer, Daisy, Tuna, Dude and Sauce
      TY all so very much.
      ~Ruth_Alis Mom~

       
  13. Cupcake

    August 25, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    What a brave, strong, and beautiful kitty you were, Ali. You found the perfect family to care for you for your short, well-loved life. Prayers that they can heal from this loss and know what a good thing they did for you. RIP xoxo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

     
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 4:27 pm

      TY so much Cupcake.
      ~Ruth-Alis Mom~

       
  14. Skyler Braveheart

    August 25, 2016 at 9:58 pm

    Tears from Mama and me..what a beautiful soul. Such a standout interview! Run free precious soul.

     
  15. Tails Around the Ranch

    August 28, 2016 at 12:46 pm

    Aw 😦 so sorry to hear about Ali’s passing. We hope tender memories of your life provide comforting thoughts to your fur-mily.

     
    • ruth7933

      September 5, 2016 at 4:28 pm

      TY so very much.
      ~Ruth-Alis Mom~

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
