RSS

Journey with Friends

22 Aug

Welcome my friends to our weekly issue of Journey with Friends.  This is a time that we come together for support, for encouragement, for fellowship – all with one single goal in mind – to live better.  Welcome to our journey to share our goals and our accomplishments and our disappointments and frustrations.

Together we can do this!


Hey my friends!  How did you do last week?  Last week was better for me.  I actually was a good girl and went home and cooked after work every night.  Can you believe that?  I was so proud of myself!  AND we kept it good clean foods – eggs, salads, veggies.  I was very proud of myself cause I feel great this week.  Me and the hub have decided to eat clean, walk and we are not going to let that little devil called the scale rule us.  We were weighing once a week and I think that kind of commanded the next week.  So, we are now going to weigh once a month.  I already feel less stress with putting that in place.  How often do you weigh?  Does that deviled scale rule your life?

Now my friends – how did you do? ❤

Miles Walked Since 06/13/2016:  71.75 miles


 
31 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2016 in Journey with Friends

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

31 responses to “Journey with Friends

  1. easyweimaraner

    August 22, 2016 at 9:51 am

    Bravo, that’s great!!!…. I only use the scale when I have the feeling that my pants shrinked over night :o) I failed 87 times, Ben&Jerry’s pumpkin cheesecake is back LOL

     
    • Piglove

      August 22, 2016 at 2:42 pm

      Oh have mercy! I’ve not seen that here yet… I did say yet. I must go to the grocery store in search for this.. thanks! June

       
      • easyweimaraner

        August 23, 2016 at 3:45 am

        oh better don’t go to the store…one spoon and you are addicted furever…fortunately our junk store was helpful, the ben&jerry box was empty as I tried to get more :O)

         
      • Piglove

        August 23, 2016 at 10:12 am

        Squeals! Mom is on the lookout for that ice cream here around our crib. She is drooling to find it. XOXO – Bacon

         
  2. sheilaenglehart

    August 22, 2016 at 10:17 am

    Great job! I’ve been down with pneumonia this week, so not much exercise. Lived on fruit and broth for a few days.

     
    • Piglove

      August 22, 2016 at 2:43 pm

      Bless your heart! Don’t push yourself in getting back. Take your time and take care of you! June

       
    • franhunne4u

      August 23, 2016 at 5:37 am

      Don’t do a diet when you are ill! Particularly not when you suffer from something as serious as pneumonia!!

       
  3. franhunne4u

    August 22, 2016 at 10:23 am

    I only ever use the scales when I am forced to. Last time was before my surgery – because they wanted to know what kind of device they needed to accomodate my passed out body. I fit into the same size since 2000. And still I have gained weight – and massively so. Have cooked much of last week, too. Mainly because I was given a huge courgette and I am not able to throw good food away. So I decided to make the most of it. I had already cooked a chicken soup the Sunday before, ate one more portion of that on Monday. Baked courgette-Feta-muffins on Tuesday (not sweet, no sugar) – and even took them to work, so I did not eat all of that but passed on quite a few to my colleagues.
    On Wednesday evening I cooked a courgette-cream-soup – very simple recipe and about 2 pounds of courgette used. I warmed a portion of that on Thursday.
    On Friday it was fresh gnocchi from the shop, with an improvised tomato-sauce – fennel (first time I EVER cooked with fennel – very, very tasty), a bunch of spring onions, a bell pepper, tomatos from the tin. Saturday I made something completely different – something with meat – rolls with – can you imagine, courgette which I bought (you’d think I’d have had enough of that, since on the 6th I already had a courgette gratin), some bell pepper, onion, garlic – and in a vegetable souce – consisting out of the same veggies – and some tomatos.
    With Feta-cheese crumbled atop.
    Warmed the rest of that on Sunday.
    Today it will be the rest of the pasta sauce and the rest of the gnocchi. It is getting warmer, I might consider a simple salad tomorrow, but then I need some fresh tomatos (only have tinned ones right now) – or I might do some potato-carrot-hashbrowns (love those and you can take them to office and eat them cold for lunch). Must see the temperature in the later week for more things to do – but something with rice and curry is an option. Something with fish would be welcome (I love fish cakes and you can take the rest of those for lunch to work, too – with a salad …)

     
    • Piglove

      August 22, 2016 at 2:45 pm

      You need to cook for me! I have challenges on finding something new that keeps my attention. But I’m learning. Your food sounds delightful. You have encouraged me to try something this week and stick to it. Thank you sweet friend – June
      P.S. And I hope that you are recuperating well

       
      • franhunne4u

        August 22, 2016 at 3:34 pm

        Oh yes, the challenge from the week before the last one is nearly forgotten. I still try to get some iron inside – so I have added some cured meat into my pasta sauce today. I hoped my long comment would water your mouth … Do not forget – YOU NEED FOOD to live. Food should never be associated with guilt. Also remember, some food you need, other things you just want because there is something on your soul … I am a fat woman, but I have found out, if I eat more REAL meals I eat less unhealthy snacks with empty calories and not enough vitamines and next to no minerals.

         
      • franhunne4u

        August 22, 2016 at 3:35 pm

        Did you know that dark chocolate contains iron 😉 And since it is made from beans it should count along your five a day, shouldn’t it??? What if it isn’t chocolate that is making us fat – but tap water?

         
      • Piglove

        August 22, 2016 at 4:25 pm

        That is a good point. Water has to be making me fat. I drink a LOT of it during the day – HA! June

         
      • franhunne4u

        August 23, 2016 at 12:50 am

        😉

         
  4. Skyler Braveheart

    August 22, 2016 at 12:33 pm

    Bravo to you both! We got most our walks in…I got all my walks that is. Mama didn’t get all of hers in. We do ‘t weigh all that much because every time we go the Dr, Mama has to hop on the scales, and she can’t beg out of it either. Only the Dentist and the Surgeon are safe havens……now that Fall is approaching, I expect to get my full afternoon walk back. That will help her too.

     
    • Piglove

      August 22, 2016 at 2:46 pm

      Once this weather breaks and it gets a bit cooler, I will so be out a little more too. Right now it’s still WAY too hot for sure. Congrats on your walking my little friend – June

       
  5. Tails Around the Ranch

    August 22, 2016 at 1:20 pm

    I rarely weigh instead using how tight clothes fit. When they’re loose, then I’ll pull the scales out and smile. Kudos on the week’s progress. I know you guys can keep it up!

     
    • Piglove

      August 22, 2016 at 2:49 pm

      Thanks my friend. I really appreciate that. I feel so much better today. It’s funny how when we listen to our bodies we feel better. June

       
  6. pilch92

    August 22, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    That is wonderful and I am impressed by how far you have walked since June. I never weigh myself and won’t even let the Dr. tell me because I know by my clothes’ size, it isn’t good.

     
    • Piglove

      August 22, 2016 at 2:49 pm

      Trust me – I know my clothes size too – LOL. It’s a work in progress. And every little step adds up in this journey of walking . Thanks my friend. June

       
  7. Nylabluesmum

    August 22, 2016 at 2:39 pm

    Hurrah June & Jim!! Well done you two….
    I was doing well until I ‘ran into a box’ of Peek Freens….. I was craving a cigarette so badly….no excuse…so I substituted cookies for cigs…. 😦
    Thankfully this is a new week….
    (((hugs))) Sherri-Ellen

     
    • Piglove

      August 22, 2016 at 2:51 pm

      LOL – Trust me, I’ve had those moments. I hid cookies in the cabinets months ago. Guess what Jim found last night by accident. Yep nods head – those cookies. We had two each and they were delicious. June

       
      • Nylabluesmum

        August 22, 2016 at 3:11 pm

        LOL at least you had help eating the ‘contraband’….Siddhartha Henry was no help, hahahah!!!!

         
      • franhunne4u

        August 23, 2016 at 5:42 am

        2 cookies are ok – if you eat those occasionally! Do not associate food with sin. Enjoy the ones that are not meant for everyday consumption. Just not every day …

         
  8. pattisj

    August 22, 2016 at 5:03 pm

    Holding steady, but I HAVE TO LEAVE THE M&Ms at the STORE! I need the accountability of weighing myself every week. Lovely weather today, even hubby suggested a walk when he gets home from work.

     
    • Piglove

      August 23, 2016 at 10:07 am

      Amen – you can do this my friend!! It’s so hard to leave things at the store that call your name the entire time you are shopping. I know that horror only too well. And your hubby wanting to go for a walk with you – that is key right there! Keep up the great work. You can do this. June

       
      • pattisj

        August 23, 2016 at 11:02 am

        I agree, it’s much easier when he wants to go, too.

         
  9. gentlestitches

    August 23, 2016 at 5:48 pm

    Not letting the scales rule sounds like a good plan. I had a better week too and walked more. ❤

     
    • Piglove

      August 23, 2016 at 5:56 pm

      Congrats my friend!! I know you can do it. Sounds like you had a great week too. June

       
  10. Nylabluesmum

    August 23, 2016 at 6:55 pm

    I. Did. Not. Buy. ANY Junk. Food. Today.
    I. AM. AMAZED! 😉

     
    • Piglove

      August 24, 2016 at 9:47 am

      Bravo – Bravo – well done my friend. That is half the battle! June

       
      • Nylabluesmum

        August 24, 2016 at 2:29 pm

        Thanks June! One day at a time right? 😉

         

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
