RSS

Paw Time with Houdini

12 Aug


image

Hello my friends to another great week of Paw Time with Houdini.  This week I want to talk about something that is probably important to all of us.  Something that us anipals don’t like.  Thunderstorms.  Shivers.  I hate them.  The rumble in the sky, the shake of the house, the loud “BOOMS”.  Why does Mother Nature have to be so vocal?  Why can’t she just thrown down rain or snow or flowers?  Why does she have to echo nature outside and scare all of us?  I get so bad that I shake and shiver like I’m freezing.  I’m not cold.  I’m just scared out of my little Yorkie mind.

I was so bad with these loud noises that mom got me what was called a Mellow Shirt from Amazon.  I am in no way paid for my personal experience of this Mellow Shirt.  The Mellow Shirt is just like the other more popular shirt on the market.  This Mellow Shirt wraps around my waist and underneath my chin.  It’s secure with Velcro – and who doesn’t like Velcro right?  And the Mellow Shirt is not only for thunderstorms or fireworks.  It’s also good for us anipals that maybe get a little scared or shaky when riding in the car.image

Mom was doubtful that this Mellow Shirt would help me but in trying to make life better for me invested the $20.00 and bought my shirt.  The first day she got the shirt, we had a somewhat okay thunderstorm – nothing major – but I was a little shaky.  So mom called me over to the ottoman and I got into position for her to put my shirt on my little shaking body.  Now, it was different from my t-shirts because it wraps around my waist and Velcro’s securely around me.  I have to admit that it did make me feel more secure.  And on this day with the slight thunderstorm outside, I didn’t shake.  Can you believe that?

We’ve experience several more thunderstorms and this week had one that was on a 10 on a scale of 1 thru 10 with 10 being the worse.  This storm had loud BOOMING thunder for about two hours in the evening when mom/dad were in the front room with us anipals watching television.  Mom called me over to the ottoman and I knew what to expect.  In fact, I beat her to the ottoman as if to say, “Mom, please my Mellow shirt.”  And you know what?

I wasimage able to lay down on the couch by myself and when the booming got too much, I found a perfect spot on dad’s shoulders.  How was my shaking?  Probably around a 2 which is a HUGE difference from before.  So my fellow anipals.  If you have a fear of thunderstorms like I do, check the Mellow Shirt out on Amazon and leave hints around your house for your humans to get you one.  I think you will like it.

Now, may I present to you Jokes with Daddy.  Have an awesome weekend friends! ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

27 responses to “Paw Time with Houdini

  1. easyweimaraner

    August 12, 2016 at 4:26 am

    yay for this shirt! I agree some thunderstorms are just thunderstorms, but some of them make special noises what torture our sensitive ears… how great that you found the shirt what helps you to go through such storms :o) hahahah …. the joke is great… my dad meets such familymembers always when he has to pass the big meadows LOL

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 10:58 am

      Barks with puppy laughter brother. Dad’s joke was so in tune this week. It was awesome for sure! And this shirt is totally cool. It ‘holds’ me a certain way that makes me feel more secured. We all need that from time to time, right? – Houdini

       
      • easyweimaraner

        August 12, 2016 at 11:02 am

        absolutely… the mama would love to have such a magic shirt for me… that’s better than to sit in the wardrobe together… specially when she had that awful veggie chips :o)

         
      • Piglove

        August 12, 2016 at 11:05 am

        Snorts with piggy laughter. Oh I know the feeling brother. Dad was letting some food ghosts out last night. OMP – I need to bottle that stuff. I could make millions with the potency of it – snorts with piggy laughter. XOXO – Bacon

         
      • easyweimaraner

        August 12, 2016 at 11:19 am

        maybe you can sell it to the hospitals? the laughing gas kills too much brain cells… maybe a “biological anastasia” could be the hit for our friends at green peace?

         
      • Piglove

        August 12, 2016 at 11:52 am

        HA! I think you may have it brother. I gotta buy me a hazmat suit to collect it though. Last night, daddy almost killed all of us with his food ghosts. Snorts with piggy laughter. XOXO – Bacon

         
  2. Genevieve Petrillo

    August 12, 2016 at 5:27 am

    GAH! In-laws! Good one! I am happy your Mellow Shirt makes you more mellow in the storms, H. Thunder can be scary. Balloons too. And ladders. And golf carts. And box fans. And pumpkins…..

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 10:58 am

      Oh beautiful. I know if you were here with me, I would have no insecurities whatsoever. Just sayin ❤ – Houdini

       
  3. gentlestitches

    August 12, 2016 at 5:39 am

    My Jack has a shirt like that and it changed his life. He wears it if we have to have any maintenance done on the house too because that makes him nervous and when he is nervous he barks his head off and also shakes. I was given the suggestion from Stuart the Scottie. I like that joke. LOL!

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 10:59 am

      YES! Stuart’s mom gave us the suggestion as well. She’s awesome isn’t she? And mom says I can wear my Mellow shirt for car rides too. Sometimes I have a tendency to shake a bit from the unknown. I do just love it! – Houdini

       
  4. Charles Huss

    August 12, 2016 at 7:27 am

    Hahaha. That’s a good one. 🙂

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 11:00 am

      Barks with puppy laughter. Thanks! I’ll tell dad what you said. – Houdini

       
  5. Miss Harper Lee

    August 12, 2016 at 9:00 am

    My human daddy needs a Mellow Shirt. He’s a real scaredy cat when it comes to thunderstorms. Mommy always asks him what horrible thing he did in his past that makes him so fearful of being struck by lightning. 😉 Tallulah and I couldn’t care less about all the commotion. So happy to see that your Mellow Shirt is doing the trick for you, little guy!

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 11:01 am

      aaww thanks beautiful. My mom doesn’t like the thunder either. Our little Hotel Thompson sits down in a little gully. So when it storms, our little house shakes. Sometimes I feel like we are going to go up like the house did in the Wizard of Oz! – Houdini

       
  6. Deborah Boza Valledor

    August 12, 2016 at 9:10 am

    Houdini…this is Dante’s Mom…Dante goes crazy during thunderstorms and I have tried “other” shirts out there and they didn’t seem to help at all. But after reading your testimonial, I will be shopping online today for the Mellow shirt. Thank you for sharing…love and kisses!

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 11:03 am

      Oh please do sweet friend. Mom got mine off Amazon and it was around $20.00 – well worth the money. The first day I tried it on, I loved it. I might shake a little but nothing like before. It’s like I can handle things more now because of the way the shirt holds me. It’s awesome. In fact when I hear thunder now, I go up to mom and get into ‘position’ to have my shirt put on. Let me know if you get one and what you think. – Houdini

       
  7. databbiesotrouttowne

    August 12, 2016 at 11:40 am

    houdini…..we iz buzzed happee for ewe yur shirt werked out…sounds like de in VEST mint waz a grate one…..N as usual….de pea see iz bak ta…. noe sound…… sew ~~~~~~~

    any way….heerz two a sand knifefish kinda week oh end two all !! ☺☺☺ ♥♥♥

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 11:56 am

      Oh no! No sound? Okay – here is what daddy says – snorts with piggy laughter.

      “A couple was driving in a car and got into a heated argument. As they were driving along, the wife looked over and they had come upon a field of jackasses. The wife looks at her husband and says, “Family members”? The husband looks at her and replies, “Yep, in-laws.” LOL

       
  8. CarolMaeWY

    August 12, 2016 at 1:50 pm

    Our Sammy loves his Thundershirt. He becomes Thunder Dog! Thank goodness for them.

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 1:53 pm

      AMEN! I love my shirt here too. I can’t live without it now. When I want it, I nudge mom and get into position. – Houdini

       
      • CarolMaeWY

        August 12, 2016 at 3:30 pm

        I’ve seen instructions for a homemade one, but I don’t know if I kept the instructions.

         
  9. lexitheschnauzer

    August 12, 2016 at 2:11 pm

    Houdini, I am thrilled that your Mellow Shirt has helped you so much, and glad you shared your experience so others will try it. Me, I chill. I am Lexi the Brave. 🙂

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 3:16 pm

      You are brave my sweet friend. It’s tough for me. Dad says I shake a lot at loud noises or riding in the car sometimes. I’m actually going to use my Mellow shirt tomorrow on the way to the groomers office. I’ll keep you posted. – Houdini

       
  10. The Canadian Cats

    August 12, 2016 at 6:35 pm

    What a terrific shirt….is it yellow? You know…”They call me mellow yellow, quite right.” I know its navy…just given’ you the gear Houdini.

    I used to get scared of the loud booms too but Kali just carried on eating and then heading off to do whatever she wanted to do. So I tried her method and I wasn’t scared anymore. Guess I do learn the odd thing from sis.

    Shoko
    PSSSSS Mom laughed so hard at Daddy’s joke she worke Kali up. Kali gave her a dirty look and went back to sleep.

    Shoko

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 8:12 pm

      Barks with puppy laughter. Too funny mellow yellow. I do love my shirt though. It’s totally awesome and wraps around me – that way I can still gain some weight – ha!! – Houdini

       
  11. Tails Around the Ranch

    August 12, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    Whoa…that’s impressive news on the Mellow Shirt. We’ll check it out-it might help Sam on long car rides. Thanks for sharing. And thanks to your Daddy for this week’s joke. Good one!

     
    • Piglove

      August 12, 2016 at 8:13 pm

      Thanks my sweet friend. I’ll tell dad you liked it. And do check the shirt out. It’s amazing! Houdini

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
