RSS

Journey with Friends

09 May

Welcome my friends to our weekly issue of Journey with Friends.  This is a time that we come together for support, for encouragement, for fellowship – all with one single goal in mind – to live better.  Welcome to our journey to share our goals and our accomplishments and our disappointments and frustrations.

Together we can do this!


Hello friends!!  How did your week go?  Last week, I made some decisions.  Some of them were harder to decide but I’m standing firm with them for now.

First Decision – the plasma clinic.  Lately I can’t get my pulse under 100.  I have an accelerated heart beat to begin with and every time I go to the clinic it’s a stressful situation to get that number down.  And with the other excitement happening here at the Hotel Thompson at the end of the month, I just know that the number is not going down anytime soon.  Therefore, I am halting my donations for now.  I’m proud in the fact that I have made 38 plasma donations and I’m hoping that has touched people in need.  Later once I can get my pulse rate down, I may revisit the plasma clinic.  But for now, I feel relieved for taking a break.

Second Decision – I *have* to do better with this way of eating.  I’ve been playing with it for months now and I keep making excuses.  It’s always going to be this or that with mountains and valleys to overcome.  I need to start learning how to let go of stress and handle it better.  So, deep breaths, today is a new day.  I’m going to really, really try to do better – especially in the next couple of weeks.  Then our guests arrive and I will probably take that week off and then start afresh again.

Sometimes we have to step back and reevaluate ourselves and this has been one of those times.  I’ve noticed that I’ve had to much on my plate for a while and I kept thinking I could handle it all.  Guess what.  I’m not Super Woman… I wish I had her body though – LOL.  But as women in general, I think we all think we can handle everything.  But after a while, everything catches up with you.  So I am making a commitment to be better to myself.  I need to take time for me and listen to my body before it starts shutting down.

So what about you my friends.  Ever felt this way?  I would love to hear about it ((HUGS)) ♥

 
15 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2016 in Journey with Friends

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Journey with Friends

  1. gentlestitches

    May 9, 2016 at 1:44 am

    Oh yes. I think we need some time every week where we do nothing and we do that nothing on our own. I have no idea where that would be fitted in but it is a good suggestion. 😀

     
  2. easyweimaraner

    May 9, 2016 at 4:28 am

    you visited this clinic for 38 times, probably you were there 38 times more than the most of us … and I say thank you in the name of all who need a plasma donation. It’s a great plan to be better with yourself… we deserve it that someone is good to us :o) I decided to stay away from oreo-devil and milka-monster… and my store supported me, there have it no longer in stock… GREAT!

     
  3. onespoiledcat

    May 9, 2016 at 5:06 am

    First congratulations on impacting in a very powerful way – so many lives with your plasma dontations – no small feat and something to be proud of. Secondly, don’t beat yourself up about weight loss (or not) as the STRESS of thinking about dieting can actually MAKE you eat more and not watch what you DO eat. Sometimes it’s easier to start with a slight behavior modification too like smaller portions of all the foods you love to eat instead of eliminating things entirely. You will do it – that I know for sure – because you WANT to. When you have company though it’s tough – kind of like it is during holidays when people are coming and going and there’s always snacks out, etc. Hang in there….it’s a journey alright – thing is, it doesn’t get any easier as we age and our metabolism slows down so the more you can do to modify behavior NOW, the better it will be down the line.

    Love, Pam

     
  4. katsrus

    May 9, 2016 at 7:16 am

    Congrats on all your plasma donations. Wonderful. Best wishes on getting to your goals. Enjoy your week.
    Sue B

     
  5. Mags

    May 9, 2016 at 10:25 am

    We are so sorry to hear about sweet Mouse Girl. Thinking about all of you, saying lots of prayers for you and sending warm, gentle hugs, love, nose and snout kisses for all of you at this sad time. Maggie, Chancy and Pooh

     
    • Piglove

      May 9, 2016 at 10:38 am

      Thank you my friends. We are so heartbroken here and lost. It’s weird not having our girl close to our hearts.

       
      • Mags

        May 12, 2016 at 2:35 pm

        It will take some time. Hugs

         
  6. speedyrabbit

    May 9, 2016 at 12:02 pm

    You did well with the plasma Donations so don’t worry about it,take a load off and enjoy your guest and have some down time,we all need it from time to time.I’ve given up on getting what I need to get off,its only 10 pounds but the only way I shall get it off is to knuckle down to some serious exercise and at the moment time and energy to do that I have got.so in about 3 weeks we go away and I shall use that to kick start every thing off again,the main thing is the eating habbits are healthy and the weight is stable.So the rest from the stresses here when we are away will refocus my eneregies and of course there is the gym on board the ship plus other activities to get me refocused again,Love to you June and to your family,xx Rachel

     
    • Piglove

      May 9, 2016 at 12:24 pm

      aaww thank you my friend. You are right. Life has so many stresses to overcome. Right now, we are suffering with the loss of Mouse Girl. We have guests coming in less than two weeks. I am sitting back for now from anything but trying to focus on me and overcoming some of these obstacles. Once my friends are here, I plan on laughing continuously for 8 days. After that, I will focus on getting a handle on my weight loss. I think for now, I need some laughter and a beach with sand beneath my toes. 🙂 Love you! June

       
  7. hailey and Zaphod

    May 9, 2016 at 12:24 pm

    It sounds like your body is telling you it needs its plasma now. I think you are best to rest. You can’t help others if you can’t help yourself. I am picturing the airline video – put your own mask on first. Self-care is unfortunately underrated in our society, especially for women. We are suppose to be everything to everyone while being a size 0 and wearing heals. It isn’t realistic. I think it is great that you have been able to step back and see.
    Have you considered just cutting out one of your “vice” foods. Make the rule, there are no more Oreos (or whatever it is). If you can’t imagine life without anything, you can try giving yourself a date, like no more Oreos until August 3. Maybe if you can be successful with this one thing, it will help get the ball rolling!

     
    • Piglove

      May 9, 2016 at 12:30 pm

      I understand completely. I have cut sodas completely from my diet at this time. It’s just one little thing that I can do away not only to help me with the weight but who needs all of that sugar right? I know my body will thank me once it bounces back from the shock – LOL. And you are right again about society. These young girls are growing up with this kind of forecast all over television that you can’t be happy unless you are a certain weight, size, or beauty. Who is to really judge that but yourself? One *has* to be happy and confident in themselves first and that is something I’ve learned the hard way. I’m happy being me. And people can sterotype or love me for me. Right? High Five. Love, June

       
  8. The Canadian Cats

    May 9, 2016 at 2:01 pm

    You know my heart is there with you all my friends. I can’t think of anything bright to say. I’m kinda stunned. There is far too much sadness afoot.

    Jean and family

     
    • Piglove

      May 9, 2016 at 3:33 pm

      It was just horribly sudden and out of left field. I really enjoyed our talk yesterday. That really helped me so much my sweet friend ((HUGS)) Love, June

       
  9. Genevieve Petrillo

    May 9, 2016 at 4:14 pm

    A break from the clinic is a great start to putting less pressure on yourself. The tough part is separating the rest of the pressures in life from the things you eat. Good luck.

     
    • Piglove

      May 9, 2016 at 7:55 pm

      Oh yes. I’m trying really hard to learn to breathe and take things one step at a time. It’s been so stressful here at the Hotel Thompson. We need definitely need a vacation to get away for a while. When our guests get here, we shall laugh and destress. Love, June

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
