RSS

Journey with Friends

14 Mar

Welcome my friends to our weekly issue of Journey with Friends.  This is a time that we come together for support, for encouragement, for fellowship – all with one single goal in mind – to live better.  Welcome to our journey to share our goals and our accomplishments and our disappointments and frustrations.

Together we can do this!


Hey friends – how did you do last week?  Did you stand strong?  Any bumps in the road?  Any mountains you climbed?

Since I’ve been sick with the flu, I’ve lost a little over 10 pounds.  Okay, it’s not the best way to lose weight but I’ll take it, right?  I am doing better with the flu; however, I’m still not 100% yet.  The doctor assures me this is normal and it takes weeks – sometimes months – to get back to where you were.  Shaking my head – this is something I never want to go through again and don’t wish it upon any one.  Everything tastes ‘funny’ and certain foods I’ve loved before, I can’t stand at the moment.  For instance, I’ve been having a hard time with soda – you know the real stuff.  Especially being here in Atlanta, we live for Coca Cola.  Well I’m happy to report that since my illness, I can’t stand it.  I guess that’s a good way to kick it to the side huh?  And food wise, I can eat just a little bit – maybe 15% of what I was eating before and I’m done.  My tummy just swells too much from still being sick.  But on the other hand where I once craved everything, lately I’m just craving good old southern food – greens, mac & cheese, fried chicken – you know southern dinner stuff.  We went out yesterday to a local restaurant that serves this kind of food.  I couldn’t even finish my plate.  Weird.

And you want to hear another strange thing that has happened since I’ve been sick?  A remarkable overwhelming calmness has overtaken my body.  Things are just shrugged off my shoulders and my pulse rate has been ‘below normal’… well below normal for me.  When I was giving plasma, it was a struggle for my pulse rate to be 100-112 bpm.  Here lately, it’s been hanging around 94-99 bpm which is totally awesome.  Weird too huh?

Well friends – hope your week was marvelous and your scales were kind to you.  ❤


 
24 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2016 in Journey with Friends

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “Journey with Friends

  1. easyweimaraner

    March 14, 2016 at 12:35 pm

    I hope you haven’t to wait weeks or months till this evil flu-gremlin is finally history… potp and hugs to you :O) my scale is fortunately out of order , I always forget to buy a new battery probably my inner voice warned me to enter that beast because it sure will mess up my day :o)

     
    • Piglove

      March 14, 2016 at 12:57 pm

      I think you may be right! Scales are evil little creatures that are always out to make your day in the wrong ways imaginable. This flu thing is the pits. I really hope it leaves soon for good. I’m tired of not having the strength to do anything. At least the breathing treatments seem to be helping the cough though 🙂 That’s one thing to look on the bright side with 🙂 June

       
  2. Genevieve Petrillo

    March 14, 2016 at 12:53 pm

    Sounds like besides being at death’s door for a bit – the flu is doing a good job of kick-starting your weight loss. I’ve read that if a Coke drinker quits Coke they’ll lose 15 pounds in a year even without changing anything else. Pretty cool…

     
    • Piglove

      March 14, 2016 at 12:59 pm

      I can see that about coke. It’s all that sugar which is so bad for you. At least I had a jump start to the diet like you said. Now, I just need to stick with it and see what I can do. Thanks!! June

       
  3. Skyler Braveheart

    March 14, 2016 at 1:25 pm

    We are sorry you have had such a battle with the flu, and that you have needed breathing treatments. That’s pretty grim. On the plus side, ten pounds is awesome, as is giving up Coke. Genevieve has a great point about the benefits of kicking it to the curb. We hope you both will be feeling better soon. It’s horrible to be so ill!

     
    • Piglove

      March 14, 2016 at 1:58 pm

      Thanks my sweet friends. It’s definitely a plus side to being so ill to lose the weight and get a jump start. I’m looking at it positive for a better healthier me. 🙂 June

       
  4. lapaylor

    March 14, 2016 at 3:02 pm

    consider food allergies. If you haven’t had coke, then maybe like me you’re allergic to corn syrup. Your body is doing well without it, and having it might have elevated your response. Just sayin’
    Even my dog has automatic ear trouble with a taste of chicken…
    LeeAnna

     
    • Piglove

      March 14, 2016 at 3:53 pm

      I never thought about it like that my friend. You may so be right! Thanks. June

       
  5. onespoiledcat

    March 14, 2016 at 3:37 pm

    Well no it’s not the best way to lose weight but ten pounds is ten pounds! The change in taste may fade slowly enough that you will “wean” yourself off some things that never were good for you anyway like soda. On the OTHER hand, craving fried foods kinda balances all that out except as you say, you’re eating LESS of it. Somewhere in there is a lesson to be learned maybe?! Portion control is a BIGGIE though – keep that up girl! If you were a major soda drinker that will make an impact too if you’ve kicked it to the curb. RA RA RA SIS BOOM BA! (my feeble cheer for you!).

    Hugs, Pam

     
    • Piglove

      March 14, 2016 at 3:58 pm

      LOL! I wasn’t a huge cola drinker but when we had dinner out I would get a glass or two. These days, I’ve been drinking way more water which is a lot better for your body. I’m kind of glad to kick it to the curb and had been trying so hard. So I guess in a way of having the flu was a blessing in that respect. Fried foods – sigh – here in the south what can I say? But I’m not eating as much of it which is good. Like you said – balance. June

       
  6. Reena Davis

    March 14, 2016 at 3:41 pm

    Maybe you getting sick is just God’s way of saying it’s time to relax a little to get the heart rate under control and get healthier 🙂

     
    • Piglove

      March 14, 2016 at 3:58 pm

      I think you may just be right my friend. June

       
  7. sheilaenglehart

    March 14, 2016 at 6:27 pm

    I rarely drink soda anymore, but when I do, it’s Coke. I miss Kentucky Hot Brown’s with the turkey, mushrooms, and gravy over a sweet potato biscuit. OMG. But it’s been a year since I’ve had one. I get acid reflux if I eat stuff made with wheat flour now. It helps me avoid it.

     
    • Piglove

      March 15, 2016 at 9:53 am

      Oh my goodness! Kentucky Hot Brown sounds so devilish good right now. I saw a recipe this past weekend for one – yummo! It’s little things of cutting back and it’s working. I didn’t get on my butt overnight and I know it’s not going to get off overnight – LOL. Just picturing that made me laugh – thanks my friend! June

       
  8. Trisha

    March 14, 2016 at 6:28 pm

    Those stomach bugs are the worst. Feeling nauseous turns me into a big baby quicker than anything else can! I hope you feel better soon.

     
    • Piglove

      March 15, 2016 at 9:53 am

      Thanks my friend. I really do feel a lot better today – almost normal. June

       
      • Trisha

        March 15, 2016 at 2:38 pm

        I’m am glad to hear you’re feeling better. I hope the trend continues!

         
  9. gentlestitches

    March 14, 2016 at 7:34 pm

    I hope you feel better soon and I dont personally keep lolly water or soda drinks in the house because I know I would just drink them because they are easy to drink. I try to just drink water, tea or coffee and have the other type sometimes when I am out. The last few weeks I have been having konjac rice mixed with real rice and nice sauce over it and I have lost 2 pounds. i have also purchased konjac pasta and noodles. I am going to make a stirfry with konjac noodles and add my favorite sauce to it. (sauce has protein and vegetables) That was one very, nasty, evil flu bug you had. ❤

     
    • Piglove

      March 15, 2016 at 9:56 am

      Oh my friend – it was a horrible FLU that I had that I never, ever, EVER want to get again. I told my hub that I just don’t ever remember being that sick before. Today is the first day that I really kind of feel like ‘normal’ again – such an awesome feeling for sure. I’ve been trying to stick with water and lots of it to clean my body out. And like you, I purposely don’t keep coke in my house because I know I will drink it. June

       
  10. evilsquirrel13

    March 14, 2016 at 10:30 pm

    Hope you feel better soon. I think I would die without my soda, though!

     
    • Piglove

      March 15, 2016 at 9:56 am

      Oh Evil – it was a horrid flu that I never want to meet up with ever again. I actually am starting to feel normal today. And my coke – shaking my head – I love it but it still doesn’t taste the same. June

       
  11. 25castleson25clouds (@25cson25cs)

    March 15, 2016 at 5:58 am

    Look after yourself

     
    • Piglove

      March 15, 2016 at 9:58 am

      Thanks my sweet friend! XOXO – Bacon’s MOM

       
  12. katsrus

    March 15, 2016 at 7:32 am

    Hope you feel better soon. Take care.
    Sue B

     

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

 
