RSS

Independence Day

04 Jul

 

Journalist Rocky the Squirrel –
Keeping my paws on the nuts of the world!

.

Today is July 4th – the birthday of our nation. On this day, we celebrate and enjoy the freedom that comes with the event that made this day so special.  Do you know how this date originated?  Here’s a little background information for you:

 Thomas Jefferson was the author of the Declaration of Independence and led a committee that crafted the declaration between June 11-28, 1776. Jefferson and other representatives from the thirteen colonies voted and approved it on July 4, 1776. The document declared freedom for the 13 colonies from British rule. Thus, July 4th is known as Independence Day in the United States. The actual Declaration of Independence is in the Exhibition Hall of the National Archive in Washington, D.C.

And here’s a little bit of trivia knowledge to WOW some of your friends.  The Declaration of Independence didn’t actually get all of the signatures by the representatives until August 1776.  The President of the Continental Congress, John Hancock, had to sign it to make it official.  Have you ever heard of the saying, “Put your John Hancock on it?”  Now, you know where the saying originated from.

Today we enjoy this day by celebrating our freedom.  It’s a time for some good old fashioned baseball, hot dogs and family picnics.  Throw in some parades and fireworks and it becomes a holiday with a bang!

Happy Birthday, America!

P.S. My friends – mommy want to thank everyone for their emails, cards and comments yesterday. She had the bestest birthday ever! One that she will always remember.

And special thanks and love to Nana who took mommy out for her birthday lunch yesterday. It was so delicious and she LOVED her Mickey Mouse card. Love ya Nana!!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

30 responses to “Independence Day

  1. speedyrabbit

    07/04/2014 at 1:22 am

    Yippee for your Mummy Bacon,and Happy Independce day to you,xx Speedy

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:01 am

      Thanks so much my dear friend! XOXO – Bacon

       
  2. wallaceandsamuel

    07/04/2014 at 1:28 am

    Happy 4th of July!!! Think of us when you chow down all your delicious holiday foodables!
    Wally & Sammy

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:01 am

      I will my friends. I will also eat something in your honor 🙂 XOXO – Bacon

       
  3. gentlestitches

    07/04/2014 at 2:24 am

    Happy 4th July! 😀

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:03 am

      Thanks my friend! There will be fireworks tonight. Hopefully I can still fit under my bed if I get scared. XOXO – Bacon

       
  4. dianaroggenbuckebrown

    07/04/2014 at 2:27 am

    Happy 4th of July Bacon, happy belated birthday to your mummy xx

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:03 am

      Thanks my dear friend!! XOXO – Bacon

       
  5. guineapigsqueak

    07/04/2014 at 3:23 am

    Happy 4th of July Bacon! Whee across-the-pond-pigs don’t celebrate it but whee know it is a huge thing where you live so have a great day! Don’t be too scared by the fireworks, okay? Whee hate them.
    The Pigs xx

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:04 am

      Hopefully they won’t be too loud and hopefully mom will be there with me. If not, you may find me under my bed in my bedroom 🙂 XOXO – Bacon

       
  6. fozziemum

    07/04/2014 at 5:37 am

    Happy 4th of July my friend…I would love to see the Declaration in person…we have seen our constitution and even behind glass it made you feel a part of a much greater history…even if we are a babe in terms of our countries life 🙂 hugs and loves Fozziemum xxx

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:06 am

      That is neat and so wonderful. Mommy has an old ‘copy’ of the declaration on crinkled paper somewhere here at the Hotel Thompson. It’s very neat to see and read. XOXO – Bacon

       
      • fozziemum

        07/05/2014 at 5:34 am

        I agree…it is amazing Bacon how many people have such little contact with their countries past…and I wonder of this is why they have so little respect for their futures ..hugs and loves Fozziemum xxxx

         
      • PigLove

        07/05/2014 at 9:41 am

        I think you may be right my friend. It is very sad for sure. XOXO – Bacon

         
      • fozziemum

        07/05/2014 at 9:58 am

        Sure is sweet Bacon hugs Fozziemum xxx

         
  7. easyweimaraner

    07/04/2014 at 7:32 am

    I’m glad your mom had a great 29th birthday! And I bet today you will have the bestest 4th of july at the Hotel Thompson… my John Hancock on it!

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:09 am

      Snorts. I hope so. Daddy is getting the grill ready. I can’t wait to see what he cooks!! XOXO – Bacon

       
      • easyweimaraner

        07/04/2014 at 11:13 am

        I’ve got a steak today and the staff had fishies :o) with coleslaw… think I have to open all windows tonight :o)

         
      • PigLove

        07/04/2014 at 2:00 pm

        Oh squeal! That sounds delish brother. Mommy pulled out hamburgers and beef dog for the grill. I may be in hog heaven very soon. XOXO – Bacon

         
  8. Sand Spring Chesapeakes

    07/04/2014 at 8:19 am

    Have a great 4th, thank you for the post.

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:10 am

      Thanks my friends! XOXO – Bacon

       
  9. hutchagoodlife

    07/04/2014 at 8:47 am

    Happy 4th July furfriend!

    xxxx

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:10 am

      Thanks my sweet friends! XOXO – Bacon

       
  10. Lori Fontanes

    07/04/2014 at 10:07 am

    We’re having rather a rainy weekend but won’t stop us from celebrating, no way! Happy Fourth!!!

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:11 am

      Heck no! Have fun and be safe my friend. XOXO – Bacon

       
  11. Frankie and Ernie

    07/04/2014 at 10:58 am

    EXCELLENT Post Bacon. Our mom and dad and sister have SEEN the Declaration of Independence in Washington D. C.. It is a thing of BEAUTY.

    HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY TO ALL.

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 11:12 am

      I would love to do that in person. I know it would be breathtaking! XOXO – Bacon

       
  12. purrfectkitties

    07/04/2014 at 2:04 pm

    Happy 4th of July! We hope you have a wonderful time! 🙂 xx Roxy & Tigerlino ❤

     
  13. katsrus

    07/04/2014 at 3:35 pm

    Happy 4th of July. Wonderful post. Glad your mom had a great day!
    Sue B

     
    • PigLove

      07/04/2014 at 3:48 pm

      Thanks my sweet friend!! XOXO – Bacon

       

This piggy would love to snort with you :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.