RSS

National Pig Day

01 Mar

TODAY IS *MY* DAY!

Normally, I would let me friend Journalist Rocky the Squirrel tell you about important and interesting holidays.  But today, well today is *my* day.

I bet you didn’t know that I have an entire holiday to myself? Well – I do!! Today is National Pig Day. I wait all year for my holiday. This is my third one and the party is on!

But you’re probably asking yourself what is national pig day?

“National Pig Day

National Pig Day is an event held annually on March 1 in the United States to celebrate the pig. The holiday celebration was started in 1972 by sisters Ellen Stanley, a teacher in Lubbock, Texas, and Mary Lynne Rave of Beaufort, North Carolina.

According to Rave, the purpose of National Pig Day is “to accord the pig its rightful, though generally unrecognized, place as one of man’s most intellectual and domesticated animals.”

Since today is my day, I get to do what I want… within limitations. I get my favorite foods. I get the extra loving and snuggles. I get a piggy massage. I get my hooves done. Whatever I want – it’s all about pleasing this piggy. To all my fellow pig friends – cash in on this our holiday – enjoy it to the fullest!!

Yawn, I think I’ll start like I am in this picture.  On the couch and snuggled with mommy!

20140112-012012.jpg

 
54 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2014 in Bacon, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

54 responses to “National Pig Day

  1. purrfectkitties

    March 1, 2014 at 2:20 am

    Wow! An entire holiday to yourself! That’s awesome!! :-D Happy National Pig Day, sweetie! Hope you have a wonderful time! xoxo Roxy & Tigerlino

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:15 pm

      Thank you my friend. It’s been a great day full of me – my wants. My desires. My food. My cuddles. PLOL (piggy laughing out loud). XOXO – Bacon

       
      • purrfectkitties

        March 2, 2014 at 3:54 am

        Meow out loud! :lol: Good for you, sweetie! Doesn’t it feel great to be pampered like this!? Don’t you wish that every day was Happy National Pig Day? ;-) xoxo Roxy & Tigerlino

         
      • PigLove

        March 2, 2014 at 4:47 am

        Just between you and me, mommy does make it feel like everyday is my special day. XOXO – Bacon

         
      • purrfectkitties

        March 2, 2014 at 4:49 am

        Awww, you’re mommy is great!! ❤ xoxo Roxy & Tigerlino

         
      • PigLove

        March 2, 2014 at 6:57 am

        I think so too! A had everything I wanted yesterday’s. Licks piggy lips. XOXO – Bacon

         
  2. purrfectkitties

    March 1, 2014 at 2:20 am

    Wow! An entire holiday to yourself! That’s awesome!! :-D Happy National Pig Day, sweetie! Hope you have a wonderful time! xoxo Roxy & Tigerlino

     
  3. speedyrabbit

    March 1, 2014 at 2:29 am

    Happy Piggy Day My friend,xx Speedy

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:16 pm

      Thank you my friend. It’s been a blast! XOXO – Bacon

       
  4. fozziemum

    March 1, 2014 at 6:02 am

    Yay have a great National yourself day Bacon…..piggies rejoice you have a whole day to be wild…..well maybe Hugs Fozziemum xxx

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:17 pm

      Snorts. And trust me. This little piggy has been wild and on the hog today. XOXO – Bacon

       
      • fozziemum

        March 2, 2014 at 4:15 am

        Hahahahaah go piggie go piggie go piggie hahahah :) hugs Fozziemum xxx

         
  5. Lois

    March 1, 2014 at 6:04 am

    Happy Pig Day! I shall go and stroke my pot pig!

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:17 pm

      Snorticles. Please do. I’ve had a lot of fun today. XOXO – Bacon

       
  6. onespoiledcat

    March 1, 2014 at 6:15 am

    Oh Cousin Bacon HAPPY NATIONAL PIG DAY to the bestest, cutest piggy in the universe! I do hope your day is perfect from start to finish dear boy.

    Hugs, Sammy

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:18 pm

      Aaww. Thank you my sweet cousin. It’s been a blast today. Mommy even made me some piggy pancakes for breakfast. I feel like I’ve eaten all day long… Not that I’m complaining. XOXO – Bacon

       
  7. Molly The Wally

    March 1, 2014 at 6:15 am

    Have a super snorting Saturday and happy national Pig Day to you Bacon.
    Best wishes Molly

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:19 pm

      Thank you my friend. I’ve gotten lots of snacks and cuddles. XOXO – Bacon

       
  8. Genevieve Petrillo

    March 1, 2014 at 6:29 am

    What a fun holiday. I hope you enjoy it to the fullest, buddy. I wonder what snack I could have to celebrate…. Hmmmm.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:20 pm

      Snorticles. I’ve had a lot of my favorites – including watermelon! XOXO – Bacon

       
  9. easyweimaraner

    March 1, 2014 at 7:29 am

    Happy Pigday brother! Winston Chruchill once said:I am fond of pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals.

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:21 pm

      That is so true! I do consider myself equal. Snorts. XOXO – Bacon

       
  10. easyweimaraner

    March 1, 2014 at 7:30 am

    ouch, my mom just celebrated the Pig Day with to much booze, I mean Winston Churchill LOL

     
  11. dianaroggenbuckebrown

    March 1, 2014 at 8:14 am

    Happy National Pig day xxx

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:21 pm

      Thank you my friend. XOXO – Bacon

       
  12. Reilly & Denny

    March 1, 2014 at 8:15 am

    Happy national piggly wiggly day Bacon !!!!!!! Hope you get lots of animal crackers and all your other favorite things too.

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:22 pm

      Aaww thanks sweet friends. I’ve had one continuous party eating my way through the day. It’s been great! XOXO – Bacon

       
  13. The Dancing Rider

    March 1, 2014 at 9:15 am

    Great day, and a happy hoiiday to you, Bacon (yesterday, that is). Really sweet pic!

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:22 pm

      Aaww. Thank you my sweet friend. XOXO – Bacon

       
  14. Lori Fontanes

    March 1, 2014 at 9:21 am

    U go, little piggy!!!

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:23 pm

      Thanks very much! Mommy said thank goodness this day only comes once a year because she couldn’t afford it. I’ve eaten all day long. XOXO – Bacon

       
      • Lori Fontanes

        March 2, 2014 at 7:05 am

        Sounds like hard work–maybe you should take today off? :)

         
      • PigLove

        March 2, 2014 at 8:20 am

        I think you’re right. Yawn. It was an exciting day. XOXO – Bacon

         
  15. Kuruk

    March 1, 2014 at 11:32 am

    Happy happy piggy day!

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:25 pm

      Thank you so much!! XOXO – Bacon

       
  16. katsrus

    March 1, 2014 at 5:56 pm

    Enjoy your day Bacon. Happy National Pig day!
    Sue B

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:29 pm

      Thank you my sweet friend. It’s been a blast! XOXO – Bacon

       
  17. Tina Del Buono, PMAC

    March 1, 2014 at 6:38 pm

    Happy National Pigs day!

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:29 pm

      Thanks so much!! XOXO – Bacon

       
  18. pawedblog

    March 1, 2014 at 7:06 pm

    Oh Bacon! That’s great! Happy *YOU* day :D
    Hugs, Carrie (Myfie, Ellie and Millie) x

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:29 pm

      Thanks my friends. I’ve had a lot of fun today. I’ve felt a little spoiled. If you can imagine that. XOXO – Bacon

       
  19. Nylabluesmum

    March 1, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY PIGGIE DAY to me faverite piggie boy Bacon!!
    Me iz snugglin wif Mum on da couch in honour of Piggie Day ;)
    Me iz so glad me cuud see ya once again..
    Lub Nylablue =^,,^=

     
    • PigLove

      March 1, 2014 at 10:30 pm

      Aaww theres my Nylablue. Thank you sweets. I’ve had a great time today. :) I’m glad you are feeling better. XOXO – Bacon

       
  20. gentlestitches

    March 2, 2014 at 5:16 am

    Happy piggie day sweet Bacon.
    Love from Aunt Sharon,

     
  21. evilsquirrel13

    March 2, 2014 at 9:46 am

    Happy belated National Pig Day, Bacon!

     
    • PigLove

      March 2, 2014 at 2:06 pm

      Thank you my friend. It’s never to late for my pig day. XOXO – Bacon

       
  22. Nylabluesmum

    March 2, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    Yow Bacon..me iz still bery week butt me iz eatin sum n tryin to get cott up on commintz n bloggiez…me eben did a new bloggie so when ya haz a momint pop over to Da Pad n haz a guud laff…yer Mum n me Mum are so silly ;)
    Lub Nylablue <3

     
    • PigLove

      March 2, 2014 at 8:49 pm

      Will do my friend. Will do. Our humans are so much alike. XOXO – Bacon

       
  23. Nylabluesmum

    March 2, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    Dey shure is alike…do ya fink dey waz seppyrated at birth or sumfing??
    Me bin nappin….(((YAWN)) …
    Just had a snack n gonna get Mum to go reed da commintz on me bloggie…
    She waz notty playin Mahjong on FB n nott keepin up wif commintz here…hard to find guud help, MOL/PLOL
    Lub Nylablue =^,,^=

     
    • PigLove

      March 2, 2014 at 11:00 pm

      That is true one. I do believe they are related… Or dropped on their heads as babies one too many times. Snorts. XOXO – Bacon

       
  24. Nylabluesmum

    March 2, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    MOL dropped on dere headz…do not say it out loud Bacon…..Hu’Mumz can bee bery senseetive to reemarkz like dat ;)
    Me said dat once to Mum n boy did me get **Stink eye* frum her….me had to ~~head rub~~ her fer 5 minutz strait befur she wuud speek to me….MOL/PLOL.
    Sow e go wif dey iz reelated….to bee safe!
    Say me ate 3 platez of chickin pate n now me iz full….mmmmm dat waz so guud!
    Mum sayz if me keepz eatin like dat me not go to Vet Tuesday….bring on da food den!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Lub ya sweet boy, Nylablue <3 <3 <3

     
  25. Basil

    March 3, 2014 at 4:24 am

    Happy your day!!

     
    • PigLove

      March 3, 2014 at 9:43 am

      Thanks my friend! XOXO – Bacon

       
  26. readingwithrhythm

    March 4, 2014 at 10:26 pm

    Wow! Pig Day! How could I have missed that?! I hope you had an excellent day!

     

Oink - Snorts - This piggy would like to hear from you -

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,478 other followers

